Skip to main content

Geology: Home

   Welcome to the Geology LibGuide

   Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.

New to the University? Explore the 'Getting Started at the Library' guidance to learn all about the Library basics at Exeter and/or Cornwall.

Where to start your search

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Expand your searching

Key Geology Databases

Geofacets provides a comprehensive user guide and online tutorials.

Use the Environment Complete tutorials for an introduction to the database.

Additional Databases to explore

The SCOPUS Quick Reference Guide will introduce you to the database.

Use the Web of Science LibGuide for comprehensive support and training.

Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
You can browse by subject e.g. Geology or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.
A short online demo is available to guide you. 
Loading ...

I'm looking for...

TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).  You can explore TED Talks related to the topic of Geology.

You'll find talks on all sorts of other topics too. The latest and most popular talks are available from the TED homepage

Our map resources contain material that may be useful too, such as topography and land use maps.
Explore the map resources LibGuide for more details.
Loading ...

Effective Searching & Referencing

It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.

Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc. 

Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.

  • It is  easy to be overwhelmed by the sheer breadth of information available to you.  
  • Invest time in planning an effective online search strategy so that you can quickly and easily discover relevant and high quality information. 

 

As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.

Top Tip

Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations.  Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.

For more guidance take a look at:

 

You may like to take a look at:

Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.

Academic Skills Support

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. 

It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.

Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.

Loading ...
Contact Us