Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives and Special Collections: Searching for Archives and Rare Books on our catalogues

Searching for archive collections

Archive material can be found by searching the University of Exeter Special Collections archives catalogue http://lib-archives.ex.ac.uk/Default.aspx?

  • Narrow down your search by going into advanced search
  • Enter a keyword or title (you can search specific people as a keyword)
  • If you already know an item’s reference number you can search by this
  • Restrict the date to a specific period if required by entering a date range (e.g. 1910s, or 1900-1920)

EXAMPLE: A search for the keyword “Blast” restricted to 1910s will bring up 1 result:

 You can then click on the Ref No to see a more detailed catalogue entry:

Searching for rare books and reserve collections

undefined

Rare books and reserve collections can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue https://www.exeter.ac.uk/library/

  • Narrow down the search by selecting the catalogue tab, then go into advanced search
  • Enter a keyword, title or author as usual
  • Restrict the date to a specific century if required by entering a date range (e.g. for 15th century works use a date range of 1400-1499)
  • Use the dropdown arrow beside “Collection:” to select Special Collections

EXAMPLE: a search for keyword “bible” restricted to 1400-1499 within Special Collections will bring up 3 results – the first of which can be seen below:

undefined

Once you have your search results in the Library Catalogue, use the 'Publish Date' box from the options in the left hand column to refine results to a specific date range.

undefined

You can also look for the options illustrated above at the top of your search results, click 'Date' to display your search results in date order.

Once you have your search results displayed in the Library catalogue click on a book title to view the full item record.

From here you can click on the item's Call No, seen below.

This allows you to browse a virtual bookshelf to see other similar titles shelved nearby. Click on the arrows to scroll through the shelves, click on a title to view the full item record. You can also select 'List browse' to see results as a straightforward list.

undefined

You can browse titles from one of our book collections on the Library's classic catalogue by performing a 'local classmark' search. Select 'Local classmark' from the drop down list then enter the name of the collection in the search box.

undefined

You can then choose to arrange the results by year by selecting this option from the dropdown list beside the search button.

undefined

For the Brooks collection you can also search 'Brooks P' to view the periodicals in the collection.

For the Hypatia Collection enter 'Hypatia' into the search box for books and 'Hypatia Jou' for journals. To browse all titles within a subject add the first 3 letters of the subject eg ‘Hypatia Bio’ will find all the material in the Biography section. The books and pamphlets are arranged within these subjects: Biographies; Health; Education; Occupations; Science; Crime; Religion; Marriage and the Family; Politics; Archaeology; History; Domestic Science; Art; Humour; Natural World; Poetry; Performing Arts; Diaries; Nursing; Literature; Myths and Legends; Travel; Topography; The Cornish Woman; The American Woman; Women and War; Fiction, Journals.

Handy hints & tips for using the Archives catalogue

Getting to grips with hierarchical structuring

Information in archives is arranged according to the person or organization that created it, to reflect how the records were created/ used. This results in hierarchical structuring. It also means that researchers may have to search across several archives (possibly in different countries) to get the fullest possible picture of their research topic.

Hierarchical structuring refers to the different levels of description in an archive catalogue, beginning with the fonds, or collection level. This top level description provides a broad overview of the archive as a whole, including its size, information on the origin of the collection and the creator, a date range, and information on catalogues or guides associated with the archive - often known as finding aids. It may also tell you whether there are any specific access conditions or copyright requirements.

The catalogue is then arranged in levels from largest [collection] to smallest [item] as below

  • Collection
  • Section
  • Series
  • File
  • Item

Not every archive will use all these levels, and occasionally there will be additional sub-levels for complex hierarchies. To view the full hierarchy of the archive collection that your search result belongs too, simply click on the Ref No in the detailed catalogue entry.

This will bring up a hierarchical depiction of that specific archive collection. You can then click on the plus symbols to expand the levels, and on individual record titles to open their detailed catalogue entries.

 

Viewing descriptions over several levels

With collections that have been fully catalogued the information tends to become more specific the further down the hierarchy you go. However, archivists try not to duplicate information down the levels so it is good practice to look at the collection, section, series, file and item descriptions from a particular items hierarchy in order to build up a full description of that item and where it fits within the archive collection.

Our reference numbers reflect the hierarchy of a record so EUL MS 397/8/3/1 denotes the collection (EUL MS 397), the section (/8), the series (/3) and the item (/1). The hierarchy of a record is always shown at the top of the catalogue entry for that record; click on these links to read the catalogue entry for each level.

 

Searching by reference number

You can search within one particular​ archive collection rather than the whole archive by entering the collection's Ref No into the advanced search. If you are searching using the Ref No for the entire collection (eg. EUL MS 397), or for a large section within this, consider using "/*" at the end so that all the records lower down the hierarchy within that collection will also be displayed in your search results.

  • A Ref No search for "EUL MS 397" will deliver one result – the collection level catalogue entry
  • A Ref No search for "EUL MS 397/*" will deliver 3171 results – all the catalogue entries for that collection

 

Assessing the amount of material

Take a look at the extent field for any search results you think you would like to research. This will provide you with an idea of how large that section is and allow you to judge whether it is practical for you to consult that much material in one visit. For example, in the image above you can see that the reference number EUL MS 397/8/3/1 comprises 1 item, however if you requested EUL MS 397/8/3 (the series level reference) it would comprise 129 items. If you request an entire collection/ section we may ask you to narrow it down as this can be several hundred boxes.

 

Information that is not on the catalogue

Collections that have not yet been fully catalogued may have legacy finding aids that aren’t on the online catalogue. Special Collections staff will be able to advise you on accessing these. It is always worth emailing Special Collections staff and asking for suggestions on material to research around your topic; we often know of connections that aren’t easily seen in the catalogue

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us