It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
Cite them rightThis link opens in a new windowOnline referencing support tool
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.
Past Papers Exam Archive (UoE)This link opens in a new windowUniversity of Exeter exam papers from the January and May exam periods Referred / Deferred papers are never included in this archive collection.
If the module you are looking for is not included in the archive then you should contact your College Admin Office.
Requests to add or remove exam papers from this archive should be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org
Alternate Name(s):Exam Papers, Past Papers
SAGE Research MethodsThis link opens in a new windowBook, journal and reference content on research methods. Use this resource to build your skills and knowledge in conducting research projects.
Alternate Name(s):SAGE Research Methods Online; SRMO
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowA bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.
Alternate Name(s):Web of Knowledge; Social Sciences Citation Index
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
BrowzineThis link opens in a new windowBrowseable access to digital journal issues, organised by subject
ChinamaxxThis link opens in a new windowA wide selection of Chinese language ebooks covering a variety of subjects across the social sciences and humanities. Includes 50,000+ books in literature, history, business, and politics. Also contains carefully selected primary sources such as local gazetteers (difang zhi 地方誌) and literature and history sources (wen shi ziliao 文史资料) and reference works.
Colonial Legacies: Empire & Commonwealth PeriodicalsThis link opens in a new windowContains the backfiles of over 30 periodicals, focusing on C20th history of the British Empire, decolonization, and the history and culture of former colonies. Includes a mixture of British publications about the empire and titles published in Commonwealth countries. Coverage is late C19th-C21st.
Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth TerritoriesThis link opens in a new windowContains material from within former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some content from former French and Portuguese territories. Focusing specifically on political movements within countries, the content includes the African Trade Union Papers and the Political Pamphlets from the Institute of Commonwealth Studies amongst other similar resources.
DuxiuThis link opens in a new windowThis database searches full-text Chinese books, articles, theses, web pages and newspapers across a large range of subject areas.
Literary EncyclopediaThis link opens in a new windowBiographies of major and minor writers; scholarly descriptions of texts written by these authors and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters. Covers English, American, German, Russian, Italian, French and Classical literatures, with increasing coverage of other world literature.
National survey of state lawsThis link opens in a new windowDatabase version of Rich Leiter's National Survey of State Laws providing an overall view of controversial legal topics in the United States. Covers the 9th-5th editions which allows users to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008, 2015, 2019, and 2022.
Publishers weeklyThis link opens in a new windowUS publishing industry news and book reviews, with ongoing coverage of the British book trade. The complete archive includes up to 400,000 book reviews, 5,000 author profiles/interviews, and bestseller lists from 1872 onwards.
Alternate Name(s):Publishers Weekly Digital Archive