A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Children’s Literature and Childhood - Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Contains material covering the experience of childhood in the long C19, including books and periodicals for children, primers and other educational material, pamphlets produced by child welfare groups, documents and photos related to children and crime, newspapers produced by youths, and more. Content is sourced from the University of Florida's Baldwin Library Collection of Historical Children's Literature, the National Archives (UK), and the British Library, among others.
New
Alternate Name(s) NCCO; Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Environmental History: Colonial Policy and Global Development, 1896-1993 This link opens in a new window Covers the history of environment and conservation efforts across the globe from the late 1800s onwards. Includes British government files from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office and the Ministry of Overseas Development and Overseas Development Administration. Covers topics such as exploitation of natural resources and colonial land use, to agriculture, urban development, the technological revolution, industrial change and urbanization, conservation, pollution, climate, development programmes and sustainability, natural resources and industries such as forestry and mining.
New
Hindi Cinema: Histories of Film-making This link opens in a new window Hindi Cinema features full interview rushes and actuality footage with leading personalities from the Hindi film industry, sourced from the private collection of Nasreen Munni Kabir. Also includes other documentary footage, photographs and posters. Covers 1950-2010 and covers Hindi cinema produced in Mumbai, popularly known as Bollywood.
New
History of Disabilities: Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window This collection provides historical evidence demonstrating how society has interacted with and regarded individuals considered to have disabilities. Includes books, manuscripts and ephemera from the New York Academy of Medicine Library. Most content is US-focused, though there is some European and UK coverage. Date range: 17th to 20th century
New
Mail on Sunday Historical Archive, 1982-2011 This link opens in a new window Fully searchable archive of The Mail on Sunday, a UK Sunday tabloid newspaper. Digitised scans of individual articles and full newspaper pages. Date coverage: 1982-2011
New
Overton This link opens in a new window This platform enables searching of over 12 million policy documents, including their links to each other, to academic papers and to relevant people and topics.
New
Pandemics, Society, and Public Health, 1517-1925 This link opens in a new window Collection of materials from 4 UK archives archives, focusing mainly on the UK, covering plague, cholera, smallpox and influenza. Collections are themed around economics and disease, control measures, international relations, medicine and vaccination, and public responses.
New
Power to the People: Counterculture, Social Movements, and the Alternative Press This link opens in a new window Covering C19-C21, this collection covers mainly the US and UK, but also includes coverage of global events. It contains alternative press publications representing anti-establishment and countercultural ideas and movements through art, satire, humour, and alternative lifestyles. Publications include Bizarre, Viz and Fortean Times as well as pamphlet and poster collections.
New
Public Information Online This link opens in a new window PIO is a web-based archive of searchable Parliamentary and Official documents. Includes Civil Service yearbook. 
New
Alternate Name(s) PIO Civil Service Yearbook
Sage Research Methods: Foundations This link opens in a new window Read bite-sized introductions to hundreds of research concepts and methods written by global experts
New
The Social History Archive This link opens in a new window
Trial
Trial ends on 30th June 2024
Transformation of Shopping: Department Stores, Social Change and Consumerism 1830-1994 This link opens in a new window This archive focuses on the social and cultural history of department stores during a period in which they were adapting to evolving consumer needs, workers’ rights and societal shifts, with a focus on life on the shop floor. Includes company archives, trade journals, union records, pamphlets, diaries and a wide range of ephemera. Countries covered are the UK, US, Australia, Canada, France and Estonia.
New
Women’s Voices and Life Writing, 1600-1968 This link opens in a new window Women’s Voices and Life Writing, 1600-1968 brings together diaries and oral histories for the study of the lives and experiences of less well-known women, told through their own words. Hundreds of individuals from a diverse range of backgrounds are represented. Sources are UK and Irish archives and most documents are diaries, though there is a wide range of other material also included.
New
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...

Contact Us or Give Feedback