Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
Cite them rightThis link opens in a new windowOnline referencing support tool
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull text archive of back issues of journals and e-books in all subject areas.
Past Papers Exam Archive (UoE)This link opens in a new windowUniversity of Exeter exam papers from the January and May exam periods Referred / Deferred papers are never included in this archive collection.
If the module you are looking for is not included in the archive then you should contact your College Admin Office.
Requests to add or remove exam papers from this archive should be directed to firstname.lastname@example.org
Alternate Name(s):Exam Papers, Past Papers
SAGE Research MethodsThis link opens in a new windowBook, journal and reference content on research methods. Use this resource to build your skills and knowledge in conducting research projects.
Alternate Name(s):SAGE Research Methods Online; SRMO
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowA bibliographic index to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching. NOTE: not all results will provide the full-text content. Use the "check for this at Exeter" option to find out if the Library provides access to the full text.
Alternate Name(s):Web of Knowledge; Social Sciences Citation Index
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Africa Commons: History & CultureThis link opens in a new windowCurated collection of African historical and cultural materials held by organisations around the world, with links to repositories where the materials are accessible. It includes a variety of cultural artifacts such as books, magazines, comics, photographs, music , maps, letters and diaries.
Bloomsbury Art MarketsThis link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Art Markets is a comprehensive guide to art galleries, auction houses, art fairs, and agents from multiple national and historical contexts. This scholarly resource has been designed to serve the expanding research areas of art market studies, art historiography and provenance research.
Broadcasting AmericaThis link opens in a new windowContains the papers of David Sarnoff, President of the Radio Corporation of America, as well as other allied industry papers. Coverage is mainly 1920s-1970s, with some extra content covering pre-1920s broadcasting developments, and the final years of RCA before its sale in 1986.
Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos, 1959-1979This link opens in a new windowContains Files of the British Foreign Office (FO 371) and from the Southeast Asian Department (FCO 15), including correspondence, maps, photographs and memoranda, covering key themes such as trade, economic development and increasing political instability. Also includes diplomatic records between the US and the UK covering the region.
eHRAF ArchaeologyThis link opens in a new windoweHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world. Documents indexed include: books, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, essays, and some photo collections.
Erma di Bretschneider E-book CollectionsThis link opens in a new windowE-book collections from L’Erma, one of Italy’s best known academic
publishers in the fields of Archaeology, Philology, History and Art
Select 'Federated access' and University of Exeter to access the collections. Search by title or browse by publisher (l'Erma di Bretschneider) to see the available e-books.
Law Library of Congress Reports via Hein OnlineThis link opens in a new windowReports on foreign, comparative, and international law written by the Law Library of Congress in response to requests from Members of Congress, Congressional staff and committees, the federal courts, executive branch agencies, and others.
Royal College of Physicians, Part 1: 1200-1862This link opens in a new windowThe Archive of the Royal College of Physicians of London covers the history of medicine, medical humanities, medicine and culture, religion, and government, the establishment of public health systems, and the policies governing medical education and practice, with content spanning from ~1200 to the nineteenth century. It contains monographs, rare books, manuscripts, correspondence, reports, conference papers, medical reports, medical education textbooks, proceedings, lectures, anatomical drawings, public health surveys, photographs, drawings, data and ephemera - all presented as fully searchable digital images that can be analyzed, downloaded, manipulated, and compared with content from other societies and universities in the Wiley Digital Archives programme.
Alternate Name(s):Royal College of Physicians, Part I: 1200-1862, History of Medicine from Folklore to Modern Public Health Policy by Wiley Digital Archives
Royal Shakespeare Company Archives: From Playwrights to Performance 1889-2013This link opens in a new windowArchives of the RSC, covering the history of performance, the RSC and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre. Includes records of performances, staging, costuming and the introduction of new technologies. It also includes photographs, prompt books, production records and many other visual records.