Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Blog

Introducing the Social Justice Suite from HeinOnline

by Lee Snook on 2020-10-20T16:53:00+01:00 in Law | Comments

Social Justice Suite

Hein have recently made three of its databases freely available as part of its Social Justice Suite.

In offering these resources to the community Hein aims to "honour our core value of corporate citizenship" and "help foster knowledge, facilitate civil discourse, and encourage action for the betterment of our nation".

The suite includes the following resources:

Access all these resources and other HeinOnline collections via the HeinOnline database link. Just log in with your University username and password if you are off campus.

Use the links above to find out more about each individual collection and for user guides and videos to help you explore.

All these collections include commentary resources such as books and scholarly articles, in addition to official documents, reports, case law and legislative provisions. The overviews below give you more of an insight into each collection.

 

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law

A multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our case coverage extends into the 20th century because long after slavery ended courts were still resolving issues emanating from slavery. In addition there are hundreds of pamphlets, books, articles, essays and other commentary written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. 

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

More than 680 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles,* an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the Miller and Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.

Civil Rights and Social Justice

A diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing links to more than 500 scholarly articles, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, this database allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still. A varied collection of books on many civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.

 

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us