Library Blog

Showing 10 of 77 Results

06/12/2024
profile-icon Lee Snook
No Subjects

The term time Library Research Cafe sessions have ended for the summer and will resume in Term 1 2024/25.  However, lots of friendly support and guidance is available throughout the summer to help you with your library research.

 

Library Research Drop-ins

 

You can come along to a Library Research drop in session run by your liaison librarians.  Sessions take place at various locations on campus. At these sessions you can get guidance on all aspects of your library research including:

  • making the most of the vast array of the library's information resources and academic databases
  • using key databases for your research area
  • finding high quality information to support your research, essays, and projects
  • referencing guidance

These are informal sessions.  There is no set content or agenda, just come along with your questions and queries and chat them through with your librarians. 

 

1:1 Appointments with your Academic Liaison Librarian

 

You can  book a 1:1 appointment with your Liaison Librarian to discuss any aspect of your library research. Your librarian can:

  • support you in developing your online search strategies

  • help you to identofy and use relevant research databases and other information sources

  • provide guidance on evaluating and referencing research materials.

  • and lots more….

 

If you are not sure who the librarian is for your subject, use the drop down menu on the Academic Liaison Librarians guide.  Choose your subject, and you will see details for your librarian, useful guides for your subject and appointment booking and contact options.

 

 

 

featured-image-24868

New Resource

New

PIO is a web-based archive of searchable Parliamentary and Official documents. Includes Civil Service yearbook.

 

The University has recently subscribed to the Public Information Online (PIO) online service from Dandy Booksellers Ltd offering a wide range of official documents going back, in many cases, more than a century.

 

About Public Information Online (PIO)

This web based archive supports research across publications from the Westminster Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly, Welsh Parliament (Senedd), Scottish Government and also key Non-Parliamentary material. It is ideal for researching current and archive. governmental documents on various topics. 

Full details of coverage are available on the PIO website.

To learn more about what to expect from PIO, take a look at this short introductory video or take a look through this product showcase article by Donna Ravenhill of Dandy Booksellers, which gives a a great overview of the content, together with some illustrative search examples.  

 

Civil Service Yearbook

 

The current version of the Civil Service Yearbook is available to search or browse via Public Information Online.

 

 

You can search for archive versions using the Advanced search screen, as illustrated below.

 

User support

Online help is available via the PIO help pages

If you need further support to make use of this resource for your study or research, please get in touch with your Liaison Librarian. 

 

Feedback

You can also send feedback on this resource to your Liaison Librarian.  We’d be interested to hear how it has aided your study / research.

 

The University is now an institutional subscriber to the Overton platform whose mission is to help users find, understand, and measure their influence on government policy.

Overton is the world’s largest searchable and curated policy database.  It tracks a wide range of policy documents such as white papers, working papers, government guidance, think tank policy briefs, national clinical guidelines etc and indexes and organises these materials to support analysis via key terms / topic / themes.

It also maps connections between these documents and scholarly research and news content to see where ideas, papers, reports and staff are being cited or mentioned.

This database enables researchers to track the impact of their own work on policy as well as investigate the dynamics of global policy making. 

Access and Registration

Login to Overton

You will be prompted to create a new user account for Overton.  Complete the registration form to activate your account.  

 

Getting help

  • If you are new to Overton, you may find it useful to watch short video introducing Overton.
  • Use the online Getting started guide to help get you up and running with the service
  • More detailed online support is available via the Overton Knowledge Base  where you can browse or search online for guidance
  • You can also use the Support area to join an online chat or submit an online form to request further information from the Overton team.
  • You can also get in touch with your Liaison Librarian who will be happy to help you use the platform

 

Keep up to date

To keep up to date with developments you can Sign up to Overton’s monthly newsletter, which contains new features and other useful information for users.

02/07/2024
profile-icon Lee Snook
No Subjects
featured-image-24933

From the 1st July the A-Z Database list has a refreshed look-and-feel and additional functionality to make it more modern and easier to use. 

As with the old version you can quickly jump to favourite databases by searching by name, or browse by your subject and/or database type to see recommended databases in your area. 

A selection of the new features that support an improved use experience include:

  • Multiselect Filters: Search databases by multiple subject, vendor, and type criteria – not just one of each.
  • Alerts:  a status alert indicator will quickly flag problems with particular databases and advise on action being taken
  • Mobile-Friendly Experience: The A-Z list has been adapted so users can navigate this module from their smartphones with ease.
  • Results Pagination: Avoid never-ending scrolling and slow loading speed! Results are displayed with 50 databases per page.
  • Help and support: When you choose a subject you will see your subject librarian details so you can quickly get in touch for help and advice.  Also look out for the Additional Information sections that will connect you with user guides, videos and supporting LibGuides to help you make the most of all the database content

To familiarise yourself with the new look list you can take a look at this short video (UoE users only) or use the A-Z Database list tutorial.

If you would like to know more about the databases in your subject area, just contact your liaison librarian who will be happy to help.

07/10/2023
profile-icon Natasha Bayliss

new digimap interface graphic

Following user feedback a new version of Digimap which combines both mapping and data download functions in a single interface is now available.

The new interface will be very familiar since it is almost identical to Roam. You will find the Data Download function as an additional tab in the panel on the left-hand side. The functions operate as previously, with a few very minor additional shortcuts.

Both the Roam and Data Download independent applications will be withdrawn completely at the end of July 2023.

We are currently trialling this new online collection:

Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories

This collection brings together material from within former British colonies and Commonwealth nations, alongside some from former French and Portuguese territories, to provide valuable primary source material created for local audiences by local actors during a period of enormous global change. After the Second World War decolonization movements around the world gathered pace, and from the small port colony of Aden to the vast Indian sub-continent, new borders were set and new nations built.

This recorded webinar explores this collection: https://support.gale.com/doc/webinar-gps-decolonization

The trial runs from now until 17th February 2023.

As always, feedback on collections we are trialling is extremely appreciated. Please send your comments about this collection to n.nye@exeter.ac.uk (Subject Librarian for Archaeology and History).

11/02/2022
profile-icon Lee Snook
No Subjects

Over Summer we have been trialling some new digital Library tools, and are delighted to announce that as of November 1st our subscriptions to LibKey Nomad and BrowZine are fully activated! 

Delivered by the same supplier, these two tools seem quite different but ultimately aim to improve your experiences of online academic reading, search, and discovery. 

 LibKey green teardrop icon with text saying LibKey Nomad. Discovery starts everywhere

 

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension which works behind the scenes (without impacting your privacy) to bring you full text access to academic content while you’re browsing Google Scholar, Wikipedia, PubMed, Scopus, and many more popular academic databases. This tool will prompt you to login to your Exeter account if it finds access through your Library subscriptions; or if it finds an Open Access version, will simply link you directly to the text. More information on LibKey Nomad and other complementary browser extensions here.

 

A range of devices showing Browzine working across these devices

BrowZine is a user-friendly platform where you can browse and discover the full range of journals which the University of Exeter Library subscribes to either in full or in part. From the homepage you can either search for a journal by title or by subject area, or browse subject areas. You can access available papers with your Exeter login, or you can go one step further and create a (free!) personal account which allows you to save and organise your journals and articles. The in-app PDF viewer makes this platform ideal for reading on-the-go, allowing for a more casual approach to exploring academic journal content. More information on BrowZine 

Please note: we have not yet enabled the automatic interlending function these two tools facilitate – but don’t worry! This feature will be rolled out soon, adding another layer to your digital access options. 

We want your feedback!

We would love to hear your feedback about these new digital research tools.  Please send that in via email to e.lund@exeter.ac.uk

 

These online workshops will take a look at how to run searches using databases such as APA PsycInfo and Medline on the Ovid platform.

We'll explore:

  • Line by line searching and combining searches
  • Search techniques
  • MeSH/ Subject heading searches
  • Finding the full text
  • Managing results

There will be time for questions, so please do come along if you need any help or support. Book your place now!

The session would be of interest to anyone undertaking medical, health or psychology research.

The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains over 2,500 specially commissioned, multi-media, online lectures by leading world experts from universities, research centres, medical schools, and pharmaceutical/biotech companies.

Subject areas include biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, and neuroscience. New material is added every month!

Use the search bar on the top left of any page to run a search in the collection or click ‘Subjects’ and select the ‘Category’ or ‘Therapeutic Area’ of choice to browse the collection.

10/17/2022
profile-icon Nicola Nye

Stay informed about the quickly evolving field of data privacy and cybersecurity with this new collection of high-quality eBooks from Wiley delivered via the IEEE Xplore Digital Library. With approximately 200 titles, this collection provides essential information and specially curated content applicable for students, researchers, engineers, and technical professionals.

Search for titles via Library Search or access the complete collection though the A to Z database link.

Field is required.