Library Blog

These online workshops will take a look at how to run searches using databases such as APA PsycInfo and Medline on the Ovid platform.

We'll explore:

• Line by line searching and combining searches
• Search techniques
• MeSH/ Subject heading searches
• Finding the full text
• Managing results

There will be time for questions, so please do come along if you need any help or support. Book your place now!

The session would be of interest to anyone undertaking medical, health or psychology research.

The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains over 2,500 specially commissioned, multi-media, online lectures by leading world experts from universities, research centres, medical schools, and pharmaceutical/biotech companies.

Subject areas include biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, and neuroscience. New material is added every month!

Use the search bar on the top left of any page to run a search in the collection or click ‘Subjects’ and select the ‘Category’ or ‘Therapeutic Area’ of choice to browse the collection.

Stay informed about the quickly evolving field of data privacy and cybersecurity with this new collection of high-quality eBooks from Wiley delivered via the IEEE Xplore Digital Library. With approximately 200 titles, this collection provides essential information and specially curated content applicable for students, researchers, engineers, and technical professionals.

Search for titles via Library Search or access the complete collection though the A to Z database link.

Exeter is part of a UK-wide consortium led by UUK and Jisc to negotiate access to content to support the University’s vision for learning and teaching, supporting an open research culture. Together, we are seeking a national deal which constrains costs and provides full and immediate open access to UK research.  

The University Library subscribes to Springer Nature Research Journals through the Jisc negotiated national deal. Our subscription expires at the end of 2022; Jisc are currently negotiating a new agreement.  

The negotiations are sector-led involving senior academic leaders and Jisc. Universities are negotiating with Springer Nature through two representative groups: the UUK / Jisc Content Negotiation Strategy Group and the Jisc Content Expert Group. 

The principles that guide the negotiations: 

1. Cost constraint, and ultimately cost reduction 

2. Transitional, breaking from legacy publishing models and ensuring a greater proportion of research is made Open Access 

3. Compliant, with funder mandates and policy on Open Research 

4. Transparent, to articulate what public money pays for and why 

5. Effective, improving the workflows of publishers, researchers and libraries 
    

Details are at www.jisc.ac.uk/springer-nature-negotiations. The core aims of the negotiations are to provide full and immediate open access to UK research, to advance author's rights and to reduce and constrain costs. So far SpringerNature has not made an offer which meets the sector’s requirements. At a national level, we take part in regular meetings with Jisc, providing opinion and feedback. 

If an agreement for a new deal cannot be reached it is possible (but not guaranteed) that we will lose access to SpringerNature journals.  We are assessing alternative access arrangements for the material you need in your teaching and research. We remain positive that a good deal can be achieved but we are preparing in case negotiations stall. Last year we had negotiations with Elsevier for a new deal and made similar preparations, which in the end were not needed. 

Your liaison librarian is the best first point of contact if you want to know more. We held an open meeting for all staff to discuss the negotiations on Thursday 3rd of November. Slides from the session are available here. We will continue to post any further updates here. 

As part of the SpringerNature negotiations, the Research and Impact Executive Committee has agreed that Nature Research hybrid Article Processing Charges (APCs) - which are excessively high, at £8290 - will not be paid from any funds managed by the University. This includes the Institutional Open Access Fund, British Heart Foundation, UKRI and Wellcome Trust open access block grants, as well as research group and departmental funds and grants. The journals this affects are listed at the end; it is a subset of SpringerNature journals. 

We’re doing this for a limited time while a new agreement is negotiated with SpringerNature. By restricting our spending in this way, we will send a message to SpringerNature that we are determined to get a deal which represents value for money; other research-intensive universities are taking similar steps. 

There is no restriction on publishing in these journals and authors will be able to make their work open access by depositing it in ORE, our open access repository. Details on funders’ policies can be found here. 

Authors acknowledging UKRI or Wellcome funding and submitting to Nature Research hybrid journals should comply with their funder open access policy by including the relevant licensing statement at submission and making the Author Accepted Manuscript available through ORE, our institutional repository/ Europe PMC (Wellcome) without an embargo and with a CC BY licence. Other funder’s requirements about funders’ policies can be found here. 

The decision applies to the following titles: Nature, Nature Aging, Nature Astronomy, Nature Biomedical Engineering, Nature Biotechnology, Nature Cancer, Nature Cardiovascular Research, Nature Catalysis, Nature Cell Biology, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Chemistry, Nature Climate Change, Nature Computational Science, Nature Ecology and Evolution, Nature Electronics, Nature Energy, Nature Food, Nature Genetics, Nature Geoscience, Nature Human Behaviour, Nature Immunology, Nature Machine Intelligence, Nature Materials, Nature Medicine, Nature Metabolism, Nature Methods, Nature Microbiology, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Neuroscience, Nature Photonics, Nature Physics, Nature Plants, Nature Structural & Molecular Biology, Nature Sustainability, Nature Synthesis 

If you have any questions or have already submitted an article to a Nature Research journal without including a licensing statement, please contact openaccess@exeter.ac.uk.