Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Basics: How to find resources

Information on general library services

How to find resources

Make full use of the Library Research Tools to help you find relevant information and data for your assignments and research.
1. Library Search

 

Enter your Search terms and click on Search

2. Databases

 

3. LibGuides

 

 
Search all LibGuides
 

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

 This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.

Use it to find:

  • specific book and journal titles available via the Library catalogue tab
  • a range of full text sources on a topic such as journal articles, book chapters etc., available via the Article + more tab

It does not cover all specialist databases,  and due to the way it standardises and aggregates content from lots of different sources you may find that more advanced search functionality is available directly on individual database interfaces.  So follow up with a more focused database search as you move through your research.

Penryn Library Search

Search the print and streaming media collections that you have access to at Penryn campus.

 

  • Access via A to Z database list 

  • Sort list by subject or type ( e.g. news, audiovisual, official publications etc)

  • Click on the i (information icon)  to find out more about each database. 

  • Click on a database name and login with your IT Services username and password for access.

 

Watch the quick video below, for a demo of the Database A-Z list

 

  • LibGuides are online support guides, available 24/7 from your desktop or device, wherever in the world you are located.

  • The Subject Guides highlight key resources and guidance to assist with your subject research.

  • Browse or search to find help and guidance

 

UoE registered staff & students login with University username and password. 
 
 

You do not need the alternative login with separate library card number and PIN - that is used by users external to the University.

A small number of databases require a special username and password.  These details are available via the username and passwords page for registered users.

Getting Help Online

In addition to this LibGuide there are lots of other guides which will help you make the best use of the library and all the resources available to you. 

Choose from the the full suite of online LibGuides for advice and support 24/7.

Your Liaison Librarian

Your Liaison Librarian is available for help and support.  You can get in touch by email, chat or book a 1:1 appointment for guidance on making the best use of library resources.

Find your liaison librarian and just get in touch when you need support.

Group photos: One of Library Liaison team members based at Exeter and one of Library Liaison team members based at Cornwall

 

Don't just use Google for information!

Google will find lots of information and is a great tool for examining certain kinds of material such as blogs and other openly accessible web resources.  However, the information you find will vary greatly in terms of accuracy, currency bias etc. Always evaluate the material for research quality.

As well as containing information that is not exposed through Google, the Library research tools also allow you to be more precise with your searching as they offer specialist research database features to improve your research discovery.

 

Contact Us or Give Feedback