If your reading list also includes films, tv programmes or other audio-visual media then the Library can help. As part of our Reading list service we can ensure that audio-visual materials are available for teaching purposes.
Please send your list to firstname.lastname@example.org and we will check for digital access via one of our streaming services or purchase DVD copies which can be used for streaming.
Audio-Visual Materials can be made available via the following routes (in order of preference):
1. Online streaming services
2. Online DVD Film Screening
If the audio-visual content you require is not available via the above platforms or to purchase digitally by any other means then you are permitted to stream content as a last resort providing that the Library owns a copy of the DVD.
An off-air recording and media archive service. This TV scheduling service allows you to record TV and radio programmes that are scheduled to be broadcast over the next seven days as well as retrieving programmes from the last seven days from UK freeview channels. The MyBoB feature allows you to create playlists and clips from broadcasts. All content can be used for educational purposes and can be embedded in the Exeter Learning Environment (ELE).
This service is only available within the UK and EU and cannot be accessed outside this area.
If you cannot find what you are looking for on BoB please contact us as we may be able to request access.
Please Note films recorded from the following channels may not be available in English:
Online video streaming platform. Content includes classic cinema, indie film and documentaries. Films are discoverable via Library Search. This is a worldwide service.
On-demand streaming service. Content includes classic, cult and archive films.
Subscription Content - Available to all University of Exeter staff and students. You just need to register to access this content.
Details on how to do this can be found here:
FlixOlé is a subscription VOD service that unites Spanish cinema lovers around the world. The service is home to an extensive library of Spanish film, including digitally restored classics, and also features a collection of European and American movies.
Subscription Content - Access only available for students enrolled on eligible modules.
MLS1001 Spanish Language
MLS3111 Advanced Spanish Language Skills
MLS2017 Images of Dissent: Spanish Film under Franco
MLS3066 Almodovar's Spain: Cinema and Society
SMLM236 Latin American Cinema: Race, Nation and Representation
Masterclasses, documentaries, interviews, content that can entertain, educate and inform: Blooomsbury Video Library streams thousands of videos from top artists and producers.
Search and access our collection using your University of Exeter login and password.
Amazon Prime Video delivers Amazon Originals and other exclusives, popular titles included with Prime, plus premium channel subscriptions, titles available to rent or buy, live events and more.
The University DOES NOT have a subscription to Amazon Prime Video so the only access would be if you pay to have your own access.
Apple TV+ is an American subscription streaming service owned and operated by Apple Inc. Launched on November 1, 2019, it offers a selection of original production film and television series called Apple Originals. The service can be accessed through Apple's website and through the Apple TV app, which has gradually become available for many Apple and other devices, including some smart TV models and video-game consoles.
The University DOES NOT have a subscription to Apple TV + so the only access would be if you pay to have your own access.
Disney Plus is a American subscription streaming service owned by The Walt Disney Company and established in 2015. It hosts new and past TV series and films from Disney and its many subsidiaries such as Pixar.
The University DOES NOT have a subscription to Disney + so the only access would be if you pay to have your own access.
Hulu is an American subscription streaming service majority-owned by Walt Disney. It was launched on October 29, 2007 and it offers a library of films and television series like 20th Century Studios, Searchlight Pictures, Disney Television Studios, ABC, Freeform, and FX Networks among others, as well as Hulu original programming.
The University DOES NOT have a subscription to Hulu so the only access would be if you pay to have your own access.
WeTV iflix or simply iflix, is a Malaysian free and subscription video on demand(VOD) service focused on emerging markets. Its global headquarters are in Malaysia. The site serves as a digital hosting and distribution platform for Western, Asian regional and local TV shows and films obtained through partnerships with over 150 studios and content distributors globally.
Link to the Service
Netflix is an American subscription streaming service. Launched on August 29, 1997, it offers a library of films and television series through distribution deals as well as its own productions, known as Netflix Originals.
The University DOES NOT have a subscription to Netflix so the only access would be if you pay to have your own access.
Peacock is an American free and subscription streaming service owned and operated by NBCUniversal, a subsidiary of Comcast. The service launched on July 15, 2020. It primarily features series and film content from NBCUniversal studios and other third-party content providers, including television series, films, news, and sports programming. The service is available in a free ad-supported version with limited content, while premium tiers include a larger content library and access to additional NBC Sports and WWE Network content.
The University DOES NOT have a subscription to Peacock so the only access would be if you pay to have your own access.
Popcornflix is a free on-demand streaming service that offers movies and TV episodes without the hassle of a monthly subscription. In exchange for the free content, Popcornflix inserts advertisements into the viewing experience. You do not have to sign up for an account with Popcornflix in order to enjoy the free content. That means there is no need to share personal information like home address or a credit card number.
However, Popcornflix does offer the ability to create a personalized account on their platform. On the phone app you may be prompted to sign up for an account, but the option to skip the process is located in the top right corner of your screen.
Signing up for a free account requires providing an email address, but that’s pretty much it. You aren’t even prompted for your name. Signing up allows you to fine-tune your streaming experience, rate content and do some interactive things like creating GIFs based on what you’re viewing.
Vimeo is an American video hosting, sharing, and services platform similar to You Tube.
Is the film added to Vimeo legally?
Content on Vimeo is not policed in any way - the company put the responsibility for copyright onto the people who upload content. stating that "Vimeo respects the intellectual property of others and expects its users to do the same. Each user must ensure that the materials they upload do not infringe any third-party copyright. Vimeo will promptly remove materials in accordance with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (“DMCA”) when properly notified that the materials infringe a third party's copyright. Vimeo will also, in appropriate circumstances, terminate the accounts of repeat copyright infringers."
Will the film remain for the length of your course or module?
As it is not a subscribed service films can be removed without notice by the creators/uploaders or the adminstration if asked to do so as above.
Youku Tudou is one of China's top online video and streaming service platforms founded in 2003.
Link to Service
It is easy for us to link out to You Tube videos from your reading lists however it is important to consider the following things when asking us to do so:
Is the film added to You Tube legally?
Content on You Tube is not policed in any way - the company put the responsibility for copyright onto the people who upload content. stating that "Creators should only upload videos that they have made or that they're authorised to use. That means that they should not upload videos that they didn't make, or use content in their videos that someone else owns the copyright to, such as music tracks, snippets of copyrighted programmes or videos made by other users, without necessary authorisations."
Will the film remain for the length of your course or module?
As it is not a subscribed service films can be removed without notice by the creators/uploaders or the adminstration if asked to do so.
Live stream using DVD copy
If the audio-visual content you require is not available via our digital platforms then you are permitted to stream content providing that the Library owns a copy of the DVD.
DVD Purchase - The Library MUST own a copy of the DVD
Please check the Library Catalogue for available DVDs. If the Library does not own a copy of the DVD you wish to screen then please contact email@example.com with film and module details and we will investigate purchase options.
If you do not own a copy of the DVD yourself please email firstname.lastname@example.org with the film details and your home address and we will post this to you.
If we are unable to gain access via one of our subscription services or to purchase digital access to audio-visual material via any other means then Lecturers can show DVDs/films to their students by providing a live screening event. In doing so, they must ensure that they meet the following criteria:
1) Screenings must be limited to teaching staff and students registered on a particular module only.
2) Showing the film must be for the purposes of instruction.
3) Screenings must be scheduled for a defined time or times (we would advise a maximum of two screenings per film, scheduled to reach students in different time zones where necessary).
4) The platform used must be a closed loop, password-protected one, e.g. ELE or Teams.
5) Only DVDs that have been purchased and are in the Library’s collections must be used, so that the DVD (and the copyright) has been originally acquired properly. Where a member of staff has purchased their own copy of a DVD that is held in the University Library, this can also be used.
6) Students/staff need to be made aware that the film must not be recorded while it’s being streamed and must not be posted elsewhere on the internet.
Material should not be streamed outside these parameters without further advice. A quick take-down policy would apply in the event of a complaint from copyright owners. The piece of legislation that we would be relying upon to do the above is Section 34 of the CDPA, which relates to performing, playing or showing work in the course of activities of an educational establishment.
This will not permit making a copy of a DVD or format-shifting.
Short excerpts of DVDs/films can also be used for teaching under the ‘illustration for instruction’ exception outlined in Section 32 of the CDPA, as long as it is accompanied by a sufficient acknowledgement and meets all of the ‘fair dealing’ criteria. In all cases, where content is available via a service that we subscribe to (e.g. Box of Broadcasts, Kanopy) that should be the preferred method of delivery.
Contact Us or Give Feedback