Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
You can browse by subject (e.g. Anthropology) or type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.
You may need to use a range of information types beyond traditional academic books and journal articles, explore the range of sources on the Information Types guide
Sage Research Methods is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research. It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
Research Methods in Anthropology by
Research Methods in Anthropology is the standard textbook for methods classes in anthropology. Written in Russ BernardOs unmistakable conversational style, his guide has launched tens of thousands of students into the fieldwork enterprise with a combination of rigorous methodology, wry humor, and commonsense advice. Whether you are coming from a scientific, interpretive, or applied anthropological tradition, you will learn field methods from the best guide in both qualitative and quantitative methods.
Discover the NFB’s rich online collection of Indigenous-made films.
The NFB - National Film Board of Canada - offers a large streaming collection of films, including documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. View the full collection.
Films on this site can be streamed free of charge, or downloaded for your personal use for a small fee.
You can use the following catalogues to search for material held at other libraries:
The European Library - gives access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
