LibGuides: Shakespeare: Audio-visual resources

Audio visual Shakespeare

The following collections of recorded Shakespeare productions are available within Drama Online.

Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy This link opens in a new window
Harriet Walter leads an all-female cast in these three productions of Julius Caesar, Henry IV and The Tempest, all set in a women's prison. This collection also features 40 short videos on the plays and stagecraft behind behind each production.
Globe on Screen (Collection 1 and 2) This link opens in a new window
A collection of Shakespeare’s Globe Stage productions recorded live at the Globe in high definition and surround sound.

Use it to access critically acclaimed performances from leading actors, providing performance and production insights into Shakespeare’s works.
Maxine Peake as Hamlet This link opens in a new window
Filmed production of Shakespeare’s most iconic work with gender-blind casting and Maxine Peake as Hamlet.
RSC Live Collection 2 (2018-2019) This link opens in a new window
Collection of RSC Live Shakespeare productions performed in 2018 and 2019.
Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection This link opens in a new window
Filmned performances by the Stratford Festival repertory theatre company (North America).

ProQuest One Literature - Incorporating Literature Online This link opens in a new window Collection of 20th Century English Poetry, 20th Century Drama, 20th Century American Poetry literature, literary criticism, and reference works.

Complete audio recordings of all 38 of Shakespeare's plays are available on ProQuest One Literature.

Scroll down to Audio and video collections and select Shakespeare Audio Plays then under Browse specific issues select 2003.

BBC Shakespeare Archive Resource This link opens in a new window
Programmes and photographs from the BBC's Shakespeare archive. It includes Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets, documentaries, interviews and over a thousand stills of classic Shakespeare productions, as well as entertainment programmes referencing Shakespeare.

You will need to register for an ERA account using your @exeter.ac.uk email address. You will also need a free personal BBC account to access some materials. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up accounts.
You will need to register for an ERA account using your @exeter.ac.uk email address. You will also need a free personal BBC account to access some materials. Follow the onscreen prompts to set up accounts.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
An online service for off-air recording, media streaming and archiving of TV and radio programmes from all scheduled free to air broadcast channels. BoB provides a facility for recording, creating clips and playlists of programmes.

You can find lots of Shakespeare content on Bob, including TV and radio productions and documentaries. See here for links to the material.