Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE1074 Patristics Library Research Guide: Introducing Library Databases

Library resources support for THE1074 Present and Future Salvation in the Church Fathers

A-Z Databases Activities

Databases for Theology

Finding Resources via the A-Z Databases

  • Online research databases are invaluable resources for theological and historical research.

  • Use them to view primary research material and to find scholarly commentary materials such as journal articles and books

  • They offer sophisticated search interfaces and functionality

  • The databases index vast quantities of global published literature 

  • Many are international databases, rather than local to Exeter, so we do not necessarily subscribe to or own the indexed publications. 

  • For example, the Web of Science is a useful research resource to find published literature on a topic, but it is a bibliographic database without full text.  It's value is in indexing the worldwide literature on a topic so that you can discover published content.

  • With bibliographic databases,  be prepared for an extra research step

  • After finding a relevant article or book, check whether you have access to that item, either in print or in full-text online. 

  • Library Search will do that for you.  And many of the databases will have a handy Check for this at Exeter button you can use to quickly check the Library Search resources.

 

  • Each entry in the A-Z database list has an information icon.

  • Hover over that symbol for information about the content that is available in the database and an idea of why it might be useful for research purposes.

  • Shown below is the information for the ATLA Religion database, which is a valuable theology research database.

  • You can scroll through the A-Z and choose a database if you know exactly what you are looking for.

  • Alternatively, you can select Theology from the drop down subject menu, for a subset of databases with that subject focus.

  • Core resources are listed at the top; these are key databases that are likely to be of interest to anyone studying and researching in that area. Other relevant databases are listed below. 

 

  • Explore the Theology listing so that you are familiar with all the resources that are available to you.

  • Your ELE module contains some recommendations for resources that you will want to explore in support of this module.

  • Some of the key resources that you are likely to find most useful for this module are highlighted in the remainder of the guide

  • Use the databases to search for publications by topic or author.

  • Sample search: Church Fathers and Salvation

  • You will be guided to relevant publications, mainly journal articles but also books, essays etc.

  • Full text is available for some items within the database.

  • For other items you will be linked to full text available elsewhere or to the Library Holdings where you can check on online and print availability of titles.

  • You can view the full text online where available and also download items for later use. 

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us