Skip to main content

Law - Books: Finding and using print and electronic books

Quick online guidance on print and electronic law books

You have access to a wide range of different types of law books at the university.  Books are made available in ebook format wherever possible as this gives the best access to materials, allowing 24/7 access to books from any location. 

You will be directed to key titles via your module reading lists.

Use the guidance below to explore the full range of materials available to you.

View the full Law Subject Guide for guidance on other legal materials

Use Library Search to find books

Library Search

Print Book Collections

The main law print book collection is available in the Lasok Law Library in the Forum Library.  

You will also find some older materials in the Old Law Editions section of the Old Library.

Finding Books on the shelves

The print book collection in the Law library is organised by shelf number according to Moys classification, so that  books on the same subject are grouped together to aid wayfinding and browsing. For example, Criminal Law and Procedure books are found in classmarks KM 500-615 in the Moys system, as illustrated by this screenshot of various criminal law textbooks.

 

 

The main collections in the Forum Library use a different classification system called Dewey classification in order to group like materials in the same way.  You may well use books from other sections of the library as some of your research will encompass other subject disciplines such as criminology, politics, sociology, business etc. For example, these books are not found within the Law library, but in the main Forum Library Collection. Compare with the Law Library books above and note the different location and classmark details.

 

 

A quick online guide is available to help you understand classmarks.

 

Online Books

The University has access to thousands of online books from legal publishers such as Oxford Scholarship Online, Hart, Cambridge and Bloomsbury - to name just a few! All the individual titles are searchable via Library Search with a link to the full text.

Take a look at the Law collection on Oxford Scholarship Online for a flavour of the wide variety of academic legal titles you have access to.

However, you should also use the Legal Databases to access other books, particularly non textbook material such as specialised practitioner works and reference works. These materials will not always appear via Library Search so be prepared to use Library Search and the A-Z Databases List as complementary search tools.  You can find out more about the complementary aspects of these services via Library Search LibGuide

Use the Law Databases in the Databases A-Z List to select a specific resource for comprehensive searching. A short online demo is available to guide you in accessing databases from the A-Z list.  The following databases have extensive online book content for legal research.

Westlaw has online versions of the White Book (Civil procedure) and Archbold : Criminal pleading, evidence and practice; also multiple looseleaf encyclopedias  such as Current sentencing practice, Palmer’s Company law and Woodfall: Landlord and tenant; and the full collection of volumes from Sweet and Maxwell’s Common Law Library including Chitty on Contracts and Clerk and Lindsell on Torts.

An online tutorial from Westlaw will guider you through using secondary sources such as books

Examples include; Halsbury's Laws of England, Harvey on Industrial Relations and Employment Law, Hill and Redman's Law of Landlord and Tenant, plus many more.

Titles include: International Commercial Mediation, Lw of Insurance Contracts, Bills of Lading, plus many more

Key Law Classmarks

A few key classmarks in the Law collection are highlighted below. 

Moys Classification
Classmark Subject
K Reference Books: includes legal and language dictionaries
KC International Law
KC 80 - 1425 Public International law
KL Common Law: General
KL 11 English Legal System
KL 155 Legal Skills
KM  Public Law
KM 61 Constitutional Law
KM 300-330 Administrative Law
KM 500-615 Criminal Law and Procedure
KN  Private Law
KN 10 - 25 Contract Law
KN 30 -38 Tort Law
KN 60 - 99 Land Law
KN 170 -178 Family Law
KN 190-198 Industrial / Employment Law
KN 200 - 235  Equity
KN 250-340 Commercial Law
KV Law of European Countries
KW European Union Law

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us