Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Penryn Law: Books: Finding and using print and electronic books

A brief guide to law books at Penryn campus

BooksYou have access to a wide range of different types of law books at the university.  Books are made available in ebook format wherever possible as this gives the best access to materials, allowing 24/7 access to books from any location. 

You will be directed to key titles via your module reading lists, but you should also use Library Search and the Databases to go beyond your reading lists and discover a wide range of books to support your studies.

View the full Penryn Law Subject Guide for guidance on other legal materials

Use Library Search to find books

Library Search

Print Book Collections

The main law print book collection is available in the Penryn Campus Library.

Books can be found under the following numbers:

174.3 Legal ethics

323 Civil and political rights

340 Law

340.023 law as a profession, vocational guidance

340.07 Legal education

340.072 Legal research

340.1 Philosophy of law

341.2422 European Union law

342 Constitutional and administrative law

343.2 Law of public property

343.3 Tax law

344.1 Labour law

345 Criminal law

346.3 Torts

346.4 Property law

346.7 Commercial law

347 Procedure and courts

Searching library resources at the Penryn Campus

To search the full range of print and online resources available through the University of Exeter always use Exeter Library Search

Watch this video for guidance on how to search library resources as a Penryn campus student

 

Online Books

The University has access to thousands of online books from legal publishers such as Oxford Scholarship Online, Hart, Cambridge and Bloomsbury - to name just a few! All the individual titles are searchable via Library Search with a link to the full text.

Take a look at the Law collection on Oxford Scholarship Online for a flavour of the wide variety of academic legal titles you have access to.

However, you should also use the Legal Databases to access other books, particularly non textbook material such as specialised practitioner works and reference works. These materials will not always appear via Library Search so be prepared to use Library Search and the A-Z Databases List as complementary search tools.  You can find out more about the complementary aspects of these services via Library Search LibGuide

Use the Law Databases in the Databases A-Z List to select a specific resource for comprehensive searching. A short online demo is available to guide you in accessing databases from the A-Z list.  The following databases have extensive online book content for legal research.

Westlaw has online versions of the White Book (Civil procedure) and Archbold : Criminal pleading, evidence and practice; also multiple looseleaf encyclopedias  such as Current sentencing practice, Palmer’s Company law and Woodfall: Landlord and tenant; and the full collection of volumes from Sweet and Maxwell’s Common Law Library including Chitty on Contracts and Clerk and Lindsell on Torts.

An online tutorial from Westlaw will guider you through using secondary sources such as books

Examples include; Halsbury's Laws of England, Harvey on Industrial Relations and Employment Law, Hill and Redman's Law of Landlord and Tenant, plus many more.

Titles include: International Commercial Mediation, Law of Insurance Contracts, Bills of Lading, plus many more

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us