Welcome to the Chemistry LibGuide
Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
Select your subject from the drop down menu to find your librarian.
Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.
Library Search is a good starting point for finding material on topic. 
However, if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search.
Research databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports etc that match your search criteria. They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.
The following databases will help you discover material related to Chemistry.
Reaxys video guides
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
You can browse by subject e.g Chemistry , Maths or Biosciences and by type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.
You can use the following services to explore research materials available elksewhere
Library hub discover - Search a trial database of UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.
WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.
The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources
You are likely to use a wide range of different types of information sources for your study and research.
As well as academic sources such as books and journals, you may wish to consult news sources, official publications, statistics etc.
Use the online support highlighted here to guide your searching.
Find out more on the News LibGuide.
Find out more in the Official Publications LibGuide.
Statistics is the science of collecting, analysing and presenting numerical data.
Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.
They can be a vital source of information for your studies.
Find out more on the Statistics LibGuide.
If you would like to find films and documentaries, these are some of the key resources.
For more audiovisual resources, see the A-Z database list.
A standard is a published specification that establishes a common language and an agreed, repeatable way of doing something. Standards are applied to many materials, products, methods and services.
Find out more in the Standards LibGuide.
A patent is a legal contract and intellectual property (IP) right which protects a new invention. It gives a detailed and technical description of the invention, and as such contains much information that may never be published in any other format.
Find out more about searching for patent information in our Patents LibGuide.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
You can explore TED Talks related to the topic of Chemistry.
You'll find talks on all sorts of other topics too.
The latest and most popular talks are available from the TED homepage.
It is important to plan your search strategy, and manage your search results so that you get the most from your online searching.
Keep a record of all the material you need to cite in your assignments, papers, projects etc.
Use the Search Techniques and Referencing guidance to assist you.
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of study skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.
