Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drama: Tutorial - Finding and using library resources: 5. Research databases

Online tutorial introducing you to the skills and techniques needed for effective library research


We subscribe to 30+ databases that relate to Drama

Some of the key Drama databases for your course are detailed below.

 

 

Explore each section and then complete the tutorial.

 

1. Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus features:

  • Plays and productions – Video and audio performances of classical and contemporary theatre, radio plays, dance and opera

Practice and practitioners – interviews and discussion of theatre

Theory and criticism – the academic resources exploring literary and dramatic texts, theatre practice and techniques

Digital Theatre Plus is a good source for finding plays and filmed performances.

Watch the video below to find more about this collection.

2. Drama Online

Drama Online includes over 1500 full text playscripts from major playwrights (including Shakespeare, Ibsen, Brecht, Stoppard etc) as well as critical interpretations and analysis.

Access is available to the CORE COLLECTION ONLY of Bloomsbury, Faber & Faber and Arden full text plays and associated commentaries.

Watch this video to find out more about the Drama Online collection.

Watch the video below to find out how to search this collection.

3. JSTOR

​JSTOR is a multidisciplinary research database of full text journals and e-books in all subject areas including drama. The content includes some primary sources.

JSTOR is an archive with material only being uploaded periodically. The very latest journal articles and books will not be found in this database. However, it is a good source for older material.

 

 

4. Oxford Scholarly Editions Online

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online contains major works of literature online and explanatory notes.

The collection includes:

  • Greek tragedy and comedy
  • Latin Drama
  • Renaissance Drama
  • Shakespeare
  • Early 17th Century Drama
  • Restoration Drama
  • Romantics Drama
  • 19th Century Drama

Activity: Tutorial

Contact Us