Once you have decided what sort of research materials you want to work with, you can choose the best research tool to help you find that material.
There are two Library Research tools that will help you find print and electronic primary and secondary materials:
Library Search - use this to look for specific books/journal titles, and to research a new topic when you are unsure where to start
A-Z Databases - use this to conduct a comprehensive literature review on a topic, and to find more specialist materials and types of information
Use Library Search to:
find book and journals titles and other items available online or in print via the Library Catalogue.
search for Articles + more across a wide range of full text resources via the library's discovery service. This allows you to search within books and journal articles to find relevant content.
Help and guidance on using Library Search is available online via the Library Search LibGuide.
Use the library catalogue to find films. Most of our film resources are available in digital format, but the Library does also have a collection of DVDs and videos that can be borrowed. For more information, click here.
The catalogue will include details of items held in the Forum library (Level minus 1 in the journals area), as well as links to online resources.
For example, a search for Moonlight has returned a number of results. You can see the top result is a DVD, located in the Forum library.
To search more broadly than just a particular film title, use different keywords.
For example, a search for American independent cinema in Library Search returns the following catalogue results. Note the type of content. There is a mixture of print and electronic texts.
This search finds matches in book and journal titles (and in brief details such as subject terms, contents page listing details). For more granular searching within the content of books and journals you should use the Articles + more feature of Library Search and the research databases.
You will find many results on the Articles + more tab than the Catalogue tab if you were to run the same American independent cinema search.
In addition to all the content in the Catalogue tab, there is also a wide range of content from various full text resources, with journal articles, book chapters and other full text resources that match your search terms.
In this example the results have been refined to 'Academic journals' - see the options on the left hand side.
Articles + more search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.
You can also use Library Search to check on the availability of print and online journal titles.
As you begin searching the research databases you may find references to particular journal articles that look interesting. Some databases only include short bibliographic details of articles with an abstract. If you want to read the full text you can use Library Search to discover if you have full text access.
To search for journal titles, just enter some/all of the journal title into the Library Search box and then browse the Catalogue tab to check for access.
A search for Camera obscura returns the following catalogue results. You can browse through the list and click on the titles for access.
In this example for the Camera obscura you can see that there is:
You will often find that journal coverage is split across journal and archive services.
You can scroll through the A-Z and choose a database if you know exactly what you are looking for.
Or select your subject from the drop down subject menu to see a subset of resources in that category.
Or select a database type from the drop down type menu to see a subset of resources in that category.
Select Film from the drop down subject menu.
A few core resources will be highlighted in the yellow box. These are key databases that are likely to be of interest to anyone studying and researching in that area. All other databases relevant to the subject are listed below the core resources.
Your ELE module contains some recommendations for resources that you will want to explore in support of this module.
Some of they key resources that you are likely to find most useful for this module are highlighted in the remainder of the guide.
What is a database?
Research databases enable you to see what has been published in the area you are researching. They contain detailed records of thousands of journal articles, book references and conference proceedings. These records usually include the article title, authors, abstract (a brief summary), keywords (to enable your search to find it) and more.
Why should I use a database?
It is important to note:
So, when searching databases, be prepared for an extra step.
After finding a relevant article or book you need to check whether you have access to that item, either in print or in full-text online. Many of the databases will have a Check for this at Exeter button; clicking on this link will check whether we have access to the item.
For more information and top tips on finding the full text, see the How to access full text articles libguide.