Legal Research Skills Certification: Build and test your skills online

Introducing legal skills certification schemes from Justis, Lexis and Westlaw

Login to the databases

Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window Legal research tool with full text access to UK, US and international case law, legislation and commentary plus Practical Guidance module - previously available as Lexis PSL.
alternative off campus link
A support guide for Lexis is available.
Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new window Online legal research tool providing full text access to UK, US and international case law, legislation and articles in legal journals, plus the legal journals index and many commentary and looseleaf works, including the Sweet & Maxwell Common Law Library titles.
There is currently a known issue when trying to register for an account to use the Westlaw Service.
Users may encounter a error saying Registration incomplete: You have reached your account access limit.
If you need to access case law or legislation, you can use the Lexis+ UK database as an alternative.
if you are on campus, you can try this alternative link for access. Sign in to Westlaw UK
Or Access the List of Usernames and Passwords to pick up a temporary Westlaw username and password to use on and off campus. You can use this until you can create your own account.
We apologise for this inconvenience and are working with Westlaw to resolve this issue.
As soon as this problem is resolved we will post an update.
vLex Justis This link opens in a new window An online legal research platform that helps you find leading authorities and establish the current status of the law. Links you through to full text available on major databases such as Lexis and Westlaw.
This is an enhanced replacement for the previous JustisOne database

Legal research has been transformed by the availability of sophisticated online search services. Not only can you quickly and easily access the full text of key cases, journals, legislation etc. but you can also explore the law in context by viewing a case, commentary and related legislation, all at a click of a button.

It is worth building your research skills in the major legal databases so that you can take full advantage of this functionality during your legal studies and also during your law career.

At the University of Exeter you have access to large legal databases from Lexis and Westlaw that are are commonly used in legal practice and in other university and legal research fields.

These major legal information providers have developed training and certification materials to help you build and evidence your competencies. The certificates are a useful way for you to evidence your online legal research skills on your CV or at interview.

You can also sit a proficiency test for the vLex Justis service. Find out more about VLex Justis legal research platform. it is a great rersearch tool for exploring the law in context and establishing the current status of case law and legislative provisions.

Legal Certification Information - find out more

View the full Law Subject Guide for guidance on other legal materials

University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0

Legal Research Skills Certification: Build and test your skills online

Login to the databases

There is currently a known issue when trying to register for an account to use the Westlaw Service.

Legal Certification Information - find out more