Databases provide access to scholarly research, including journal articles, conference proceedings and books.
They also provide access to specific types of materials such as maps, film, news, official papers, standards etc.
A wide range of databases are available to you at the University and are accessible 24/7 with your university login.
Below, you can find out more about the core databases relevant to your subject area.
Use the full A--Z database list to access all available databases. Depending on your research topic, you may need to explore databases from other subject areas in order to access the full breadth of information available to you.
What is a database?
Research databases enable you to see what has been published in the area you are researching. They contain detailed records of thousands of journal articles, book references and conference proceedings. These records usually include the article title, authors, abstract (a brief summary), keywords (to enable your search to find it) and more.
Why should I use a database?
There are many different databases. Their interfaces will all vary, and they may use different terminology.
However, they all have similar features. Once you are familiar with these, you'll be able to find your way around different databases. You can see the main features in the examples below.
This is what a standard database interface looks like:
Once you click the Search button, the results page appears:
It is important to note:
So, when searching databases, be prepared for an extra step.
After finding a relevant article or book you need to check whether you have access to that item, either in print or in full-text online. Many of the databases will have a Check for this at Exeter button; clicking on this link will check whether we have access to the item.
For more information and top tips on finding the full text, see the How to access full text articles libguide.
JSTOR provides full text access to scholarly books, book chapters, journals, reports and primary sources on a wide range of subjects. JSTOR is an archive with some content going back many years.
Access to thousands of abstracts for articles, conference papers and book chapters across a range of subject disciplines. Use SCOPUS to link to full-text content (where held in our collection).
Web of Science (WoS) is one of the key research databases that enables you to search across global literature on a topic. You can use sophisticated search techniques to help pinpoint the information you need. You can link through to full text (where available) and find related content in order to broaden your research.