What is a database?
Research databases enable you to see what has been published in the area you are researching. They contain detailed records of thousands of journal articles, book references and conference proceedings. These records usually include the article title, authors, abstract (a brief summary), keywords (to enable your search to find it) and more.
Why should I use a database?
They are a valuable way of searching for published scholarly research across a wide number of sources. You can build complex searches using sophisticated search interfaces and there will be plenty of options to refine your searches to ensure the results are relevant to your needs. Databases often contain comprehensive subject coverage and many provide frequent (often daily) indexing, and so are very up-to-date.
There are many different databases. Their interfaces will all vary, and they may use different terminology.
However, they all have similar features. Once you are familiar with these, you'll be able to find your way around different databases. You can see the main features in the examples below.
This is what a standard database interface looks like:
Once you click the Search button, the results page appears:
Take a look at the Database Search tutorial for a further look at how to search within a database.
It is important to note:
So, when searching databases, be prepared for an extra step.
After finding a relevant article or book you need to check whether you have access to that item, either in print or in full-text online. Many of the databases will have a Check for this at Exeter button; clicking on this link will check whether we have access to the item.
