Library Search Activities
A search for Victorian literature in Library Search returns the following catalogue results. Note the type of content. There is a mixture of print and electronic texts.
This search finds matches in book and journal titles (and in brief details such as subject terms, contents page listing details). For more granular searching within the content of books and journals you should use the Articles + more feature of Library Search and the research databases.
You will find many results on the Articles + more tab than the Catalogue tab if you were to run the same Victorian literature search.
In addition to all the content in the Catalogue tab, there is also a wide range of content from various full text resources, with journal articles, book chapters and other full text resources that match your search terms.
This search has been refined to Academic Journals (using the options on the left hand side).
Articles + more search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.
You can also use Library Search to check on the availability of print and online journal titles.
As you begin searching the research databases you may find references to particular journal articles that look interesting. Some databases only include short bibliographic details of articles with an abstract. If you want to read the full text you can use Library Search to discover if you have full text access.
To search for journal titles, just enter some/all of the journal title into the library Search box and then browse the Catalogue tab to check for access.
A search for Victorian Literature and Culture returns the following catalogue results, with the journal title typically returned at the top of the results list. Click on the title for more details.
In this example for Victorian Literature and Culture you can see that there is:
You will often find that journal coverage is split across journal and archive services.
Contact Us or Give Feedback