Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminology: Finding and using library resources: Using Library Search

Online tutorial introducing you to the skills and techniques needed for effective library research


Library Search Activities
 

Run some searches on your topic area

Explore the

 Library Search Tutorial

Test your knowledge with the

Library Search Quiz

Watch some short

Library Search Videos

 

Library Search

Library Search is  a good starting point for finding material on a topic.

You can search for a research topic and quickly and easily retrieve details of print and electronic books, journal articles and other full text material.

You can also use it to check whether we have particular books or journals you may discover during your literature searching.

When you use Library Search you will see search results via two tabs

1. Catalogue

2. Articles + more

A search for crime and deviance in Library Search returns the following catalogue results. Note the type of content. There is a mixture of print and electronic texts.

This search finds matches in book titles and contents listings and journal titles.  For more granular searching within the content of books and journals you should use the Articles + more feature of Library Search and the research databases.

A search for crime and deviance and education in Library Search Articles + more returns the following results. 

In addition to all the content in the Catalogue tab, there is also a wide range of content from various full text resources, with journal articles that match your search terms.

The Refine by options will help you to limit your search results to a more manageable number.

Articles + more search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

You can also use Library Search to check on the availability of print and online journal titles.

As you begin searching the research databases you may find references to particular journal articles that look interesting.  Some databases only include short bibliographic details of articles with an abstract.  If you want to read the full text you can use Library Search to discover if you have full text access.

To search for journal titles, just enter some/all of the journal title into the library Search box and then browse the Catalogue tab to check for access.

A search for criminology journal returns the following catalogue results. You can browse through the list and click on the titles for access.

In this example for the British Journal of Criminology you can see that there are print and online copies of this journal available.

Note that there is current and archive access to online issues. You will often find that journal coverage is split across different services, so check the date coverage to help you decide which service is best to use.  

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us