LibGuides: Westlaw: Westlaw

Westlaw Database Guide

Westlaw is a major legal database used in legal practice and for academic legal research.

Westlaw Edge UK provides access to UK case law, legislation, journals. books and other secondary legal information sources including:

Legal Journals Index which holds details of articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe, and is great for discovering academic discussion of legal topics.
Many full text commentary titles, including the Common Law Library Titles and many more standard works such as: Chitty on Contract & Clark and Lindsell on Torts.

Westlaw Books provides access to the full text of textbooks, Common Law Library titles and large encyclopedic looseleaf type works.

Westlaw International Materials provides access to non UK legal materials. Coverage includes international legal materials from ICJ and organisations such as WTO/GATT, WIPO, UNICTRAL. Access is also availanble to primary and secondary legal sources such as case law, legislation and journal articles from various jurisdictions, including EU, US, Australia and Canada - plus others.

Practical Law is an online legal know-how service which provides practice area overviews, practice notes, standard documents and current awareness services.

Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new window Online legal research tool providing full text access to UK, US and international case law, legislation and articles in legal journals, plus the legal journals index and many commentary and looseleaf works, including the Sweet & Maxwell Common Law Library titles.

Logging in to Westlaw UK for the first time

Login to Westlaw Edge UK with your usual University login. The first time you login to Westlaw you will be prompted to register for an account. Add your name details and use your Exeter email address as prompted on the registration form and you will then be able to continue to the databases.

For future visits to Westlaw you just need to login with your University login.

Quick Links to all Westlaw Databases

Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new window
Online legal research tool providing full text access to UK, US and international case law, legislation and articles in legal journals, plus the legal journals index and many commentary and looseleaf works, including the Sweet & Maxwell Common Law Library titles.
Westlaw Books This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the Westlaw book collection. Includes textbooks, the common law library titles plus many important looseleaf encyclopedic type works. You can search across all books or a selection of content. You can also browse through specific titles.
Westlaw International Materials This link opens in a new window
Online legal research tool providing access to a wide range of non UK materials. Includes legislation, case law, journals and other primary and secondary materials. There is significant US coverage but all material from Canada, Australia and other international jurisdictions as well as international law materials.
Practical Law This link opens in a new window
Legal know-how, transactional analysis and market intelligence for lawyers. Can be used in conjunction with Westlaw UK, using cross linking between services

Westlaw

Law Librarian @ Exeter

Law Librarian @ Penryn

Quick Links to all Westlaw Databases