Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering: Tutorial - Finding and using library resources: 5. Research databases


We subscribe to range of databases that contain scholarly information on the subject of Engineering.

The databases in this section are mainly multi-disciplinary in their scope. Most contain predominantly secondary sources (journal articles, books, reviews etc), although some may contain a mix of both primary and secondary sources.
 

 

Explore each section and then complete the tutorial.

 

1. Knovel

Knovel is a technical information database for engineers and scientists. It provides online access to hundreds of handbooks, data books, dictionaries, encyclopedias and technical reference works in engineering related areas

 

Learn how to search Knovel using video tutorials that can be accessed here.

 

2. SCOPUS

SCOPUS is an index database of scholarly literature across the life sciences, medicine, social sciences and humanities, supporting comprehensive literature searching.

Note: This is an index database which means that it does not contain full text. However, content that we subscribe to  can be accessed via links within the database.

 

Learn how to search SCOPUS using video tutorials that can be accessed here.

 

3. Web of Science

Web of Science is a large multidisciplinary research database covering all subject areas, including engineering.

 

Note: This is an index database which means that it does not contain full text. However, content that we subscribe to  can be accessed via links within the database.

 

You can access a range of  Web of Science video tutorials here.

Activity: Tutorial

Contact Us