Use this Subject LibGuide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services. You may find it useful to visit the Streatham Biosciences Subject Guide.
Library hub discover - Search a trial database of UK and Irish academic, national & specialist library catalogues.
WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.
The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide
CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Explore the how to find resources guide as a starting point.
You are likely to use a wide range of different types of information sources for your study and research. Use the online support highlighted here to guide your searching.
You have online access to hundreds of online books that relate to food studies. Use the Library Search to search by topic to discover relevant content. For example Campbell's Biology : a global approach.
The Forum Library print books are arranged in Dewey Decimal Classification order. This means that books on similar topics are grouped together. Find out more with our Classmarks guide.
The vast majority of our journals are available online, allowing 24/7 access wherever you are.
Use Library Search to find Journal Titles and articles that relate to your research/study area, drawn from a wide range of full text sources.
For targeted searching, select a research database and explore the published literature in your field. Key databases are flagged above.
Find out more on the News LibGuide
Statistics is the science of collecting, analysing and presenting numerical data.
Statistical data can be found on a huge variety of subjects, for example the economy, employment, the environment, government, health, international trade, manufacturing, and population.
They can be a vital source of information for your studies.
The Journal of Visualized Experiments provides access to videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories around the world.
It's a valuable resource you can use to learn about Lab techniques and processes!
The College provide Health and safety Information you should consult.
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
You may like to take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.