LibGuides: Primary Sources: Science &amp; Technology

Science and Technology

Aeronautics and Space Flight: Global Origins of Modern Aviation and Rocketry This link opens in a new window Journal articles and reports covering aeronautics and Space Sciences during the second half of the 20th century, 1957-1995
British Association for the Advancement of Science (Collections on the History of Science: 1830-1970) This link opens in a new window The BAAS collection documents the efforts of the British scientific community to establish science as a professional activity and make Britain into a globally competitive centre for science. This collection features content from the BAAS archives and connected UK university collections. Explore historical documents on astronomy, biology, technology, industrial design, chemistry, engineering, mathematics, agriculture, meteorology, physics, history of science and STEM. Content includes administrative records, correspondence, illustrations, manuscripts, photographs, prototypes, news clippings, personal papers, gray literature and government scientific research grants. The University of Exeter's Norman Lockyer collection is included in this database.
Climate Science and Sustainability: Global Origins of Modern Environmentalism This link opens in a new window Journal articles and reports covering the earth sciences, environmentalism, and sustainability during the second half of the 20th century, 1957-1995
Computing and Artificial Intelligence: Global Origins of the Digital Age This link opens in a new window Journal articles and reports covering computing and machine intelligence during the second half of the 20th century, 1957-1995
Johnson Presidency Administrative Histories: Science and Technology This link opens in a new window This collection provides extensive documentation on a variety of presidential programs and initiatives. Agency and departmental records include: Atomic Energy Commission; Federal Power Commission; National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA); and Office of Science and Technology.
Morality and Science: Global Origins of Modern Bioethics This link opens in a new window Journal articles and reports covering ethics and the life sciences during the second half of the 20th century, 1957-1995.
Narcotic Addiction and Mental Health: The Clinical Papers of Lawrence Kolb Sr This link opens in a new window Archive of Dr. Lawrence Kolb, pioneer in the medical approach to narcotics addiction treatment, public health research, and the treatment of mental illness. The collection deals chiefly with the subjects of drug addiction, alcoholism, juvenile delinquency, and mental health.
Nuclear Energy: Global Origins of Energy Resource Management in the Atomic Age This link opens in a new window Journal articles and reports covering the development and use of nuclear energy during the second half of the 20th century, 1957-1995.
Public Health: Global Origins of Modern Health Policy and Management, 1957-1995 This link opens in a new window Journal articles and reports covering modern Public Health policies during the second half of the 20th century, 1957-1995.
Science and Marxism, 1956-1985 This link opens in a new window Contains the William Wainwright Papers: William Wainwright (1908-2000) was a British communist activist and member of the Communist Party of Great Britain. Includes records regarding Wainwright’s time on the CPGB’s Science and Technology Sub-Committee and as the science correspondent for the Morning Star. Also includes Wainwright's personal reflections on the Vietnam War, public transportation policy, and the relevance of the dictatorship of the proletariat.