LibGuides: Primary Sources: Cross-searchable Primary Source Collections

Cross-searchable Primary Source Collections

Some of our individual primary source collections are just one part of a much bigger collection available from the same provider.

In many cases, it is possible to search across the entire collection in order to find information from multiple primary source collections.

Cross-searching can save you time as well as ensuring that you don't miss out on important sources for your research.

Adam Matthew provides access to over 80 primary source collections that support the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.

AM Explorer (Formerly Adam Matthew Explorer) This link opens in a new window
Search across all Adam Matthew's unique primary source products for the social sciences and humanities.

Alexander Street - All Collections This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street products are curated, discipline-focused, primary-source collections, websites, and streaming media for learning and research. They are particularly strong in the fields of counseling, anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences.

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Archives Unbound presents digital collections of historical documents, covering a wide range of topic areas including African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.

Search across all 360+ individual collections in one go.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Cross-search all of the Gale primary source collections in one go. Content dates from 16th Century onwards and includes monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more. Date coverage: 16th -20th century

Gale Primary Sources is a research environment that integrates digital collections to enable research across a range of primary sources. Users are able to search across a wide array of materials and points in time.

When you are searching, you can use the checkboxes to select one/some/all of the titles to which the University subscribes, as illustrated in the screenshot below.

History Vault This link opens in a new window
Collection of unique historical U.S. manuscript and archival materials, including organizational records, declassified government documents, newspaper articles, diary entries, official correspondence, personal letters, business ledgers etc. These materials reveal overlooked perspectives and little-known or forgotten activities and events in U.S. history. The archive includes materials on civil rights, slavery and the Civil War, women's studies, labour and workers, American Indians, politics and society, international relations and military conflicts, the colonial era and early America. Date coverage: 1775-1980

The 49 individual collections within History Vault are organised into these broad topic areas:

American Indians and the American west
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom struggle
Southern life, slavery and the Civil War
Women's studies
Workers, labor unions, and radical politics
American politics and society
International relations and military conflicts
Revolutionary war and early America

Proquest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window A gateway enabling cross searching of all University of Exeter subscribed news sources from Proquest. Mainly English language but with some European and other languages content. Digitised OCR text content.

You can select one/some/all of the subscribed Proquest news databases and cross search for your research topic. We have access to a range of tiles, as illustrated in the screenshot below.

Use the Proquest Historical Newspapers LibGuide for search guidance