Welcome to the Cornish Studies LibGuide
Use this guide to help you make the most of the library and information resources and services.
There are a wide range of online resources that will help you trace books, journal articles and much more, to support your study and research. Key resources are highlighted in the adjacent tabs.
Bibliographic databases index the global literature and provide references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. that match your search criteria.
They help you to find information about previous publications in your research field.
The following databases will help you discover material related to Cornish Studies.
Use the Databases A-Z List to access all the resources available to you.
You can browse by subject e.g. Historyor type (e.g.maps, news, images etc.) or search to find your required resource.
COPAC - exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of c.90 major UK and Irish libraries.
WorldCAT - search the collections of libraries in your community and tens of thousands more around the world.
SUNCAT - is the Serials Union Catalogue for the UK research community, a free tool to help researchers and librarians locate serials held in the UK.
The European Library - access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
The Library of Congress - catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections in the USA.
LibWeb - Access to a listing of online library catalogues worldwide
CORE - gives an incredibly fast search of the full-text of 80M open access research resources
You are likely to use a wide range of different types of information sources for your study and research. As well as academic sources such as books and journals, you may wish to consult primary sources, archives, news etc. Use the online support highlighted here to guide your searching.
The Penryn Library holds a wide range of material relevant to the study of Cornish history, literature, folklore and social issues.
Multiple copies are held of the important book series - Cornish Studies.
A few titles are highlighted in the book gallery.
You can search for other titles in the series using the library catalogue or can go along to the library and browse the shelves to find other titles in this series and other related materials on all aspects cornish studies.
There are a number of local archives and libraries that will support your research in cornish studies.
Primary sources are documents which were created during particular historical periods, as opposed to secondary sources, which are written at a later date about particular historical periods.
Examples of primary sources are:
Find out more on the Primary Sources LibGuide
Use the Search Techniques LibGuides for lots of hints and tips on successful online searching
As you search you need to keep track of all the material you will be using in your academic work so that you can cite and reference it appropriately.
Always check your module handbook for specific departmental guidance on the style required for your assessed works and dissertations. Check with your personal tutor or dissertation supervisor if you need clarification.
For more guidance take a look at:
You may like to take a look at:
Find out more about the skills support available to help you develop a range of academic skills including essay writing, referencing, critical reading and getting the most out of lectures.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) is a great resource to use when you are planning and conducting your research.
It is targeted at social science researchers but is useful across all subject areas as it covers key research methodology topics that are applicable across the research spectrum.
Sage have produced a comprehensive LibGuide to help you get the best from the resource.