Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding and Evaluating Information Sources - HRM: 3) Using academic databases

 

The university has over 600 academic research databases and digital archives. These resources allow you to delve deeper into the academic research in you discipline and put into practice some the search techniques and tips outlined in the previous section. 

You can find your academic databases in the 'Expand your searching...' section of the Business, Accounting & Finance LibGuide, or via the A-Z Databases list.

Complete the short tutorial below for an insight into searching academic databases to enhance your projects.

What are academic databases?

Tips for database searching

The following tabs provide tips and guidance on running more detailed searches in our academic research databases. 

Access these resources via the main Business, Accounting & Finance LibGuide.

Before you start searching, spend some time defining your research topic. Ask yourself, what is it that you want to find out? What search terms or keywords will find this information?

Use whatever technique works best for you - e.g. brainstorming, words lists or mind maps etc. can help you think around your topic and identify all possible search concepts and terms. 

Take a look at the short video to help you begin:

It is possible to use a number of different keywords in a single search, by using operators.

The three most commonly used operators are ANDORNOT.  These are known as Boolean operators. They can be used to broaden or narrow a search and to exclude unwanted concepts.

Watch the video to find out how to use these operators.

Truncation is a technique that broadens your search to include various word endings and spellings.

To use truncation, enter the root of a word and put the truncation symbol at the end.

The database will return results that include any ending of that root word.

The asterisk * symbol is most commonly used for truncation. However, check out the database's help screens as  !, ?, or # may also be used.

For example:

entrepreneur* will find entrepreneurs, entrepreneurship, entrepreneurial etc.

Global* will find global, globaliseglobalizeglobalisation, globalization etc.

Use it with care to avoid finding too many alternatives.

Phrase searching is the most limiting technique as it is used to specify that your terms must appear next to each other, and in the order you specify.

Phrase searching is commonly achieved by surrounding your phrase with quotation marks.

Always check the Database Help screens, as some databases may use different symbols.

Phrase searching examples:

"Digital marketing"

"Corporate social responsibility"

 

For more, see the Search tips guide.

Using academic databases - tutorial

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us