Skip to main content

Libraries & Study Space: Home

Information about all the Library Sites available through the University of Exeter

Welcome

Welcome to the University of Exeter Library Service. The Library has a number of different library sites, offering extensive opening hours. Brief details of the libraries are provided below - use the tabs for more details about each site. Your University ID card is also your Library card and your swipe access card, so keep this on you at all times so that you can access the facilities.  If you wish to visit one of the libraries you can locate them on the online campus map, and find directions to the campuses.

In addition to the libraries, there are various study centres available across the campuses. The centres do not hold print library collections but provide study spaces, PCs, wifi and print and copy facilities.

These libraries and study centres offer a range of differing study and library environments, so that you can tailor your experience and choose the environment that bets suits your needs. For example, quiet, silent and group study environments are available for you to select - find out more about your Study Space options.

Forum Library

The Forum Library is on the Exeter Streatham Campus and houses the main teaching and research collections for all disciplines on the Streatham Campus.

The Forum Library is at the heart of the Streatham campus and is open 24/7 for current students and staff and students.

St Luke's Library

St Luke's Library is based at the St Luke's campus in Exeter. This is approximately two miles from the Exeter Streatham campus.

The collections support the Education, Medicine and Sports Science disciplines which are based on that campus.

NHS Libraries

Exeter Health Library is the NHS library at the Royal Devon and Exeter NHS Foundation Trust.  

Local NHS staff and students on placement at the hospital can use the library. Similar arrangements apply to other NHS libraries in the region.

Old Library

The Old Library holds research collections and is home to Special Collections and the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum, plus the Arab World Documentation Unit (AWDU).

It is on the Exeter Streatham Campus, and is a short walk away from the Forum Library.

Penryn Campus Library

The Penryn Campus Library supports students of both the University of Exeter and Falmouth University.  It is situated within The Exchange and Du Maurier buildings on the Penryn Campus, with the entrance on Level 1 of The Exchange.

Heritage Collections

Heritage Collections manages collections of archives, manuscripts and book collections which are too rare, old or fragile to be kept on the open shelves of the library.

Material is available for students, staff and external researchers to book and access in the Ronald Duncan Reading Room.

Law Library

The Lasok Law Library is based within the Forum Library on level -1, and includes the European Documentation Centre collection.

The physical law collections are enhanced by extensive electronic legal resources which are invaluable aids to the study and research of law.

Falmouth Campus Library

The Falmouth Campus Library is situated off the main drive through the Campus opposite the Fine Art Studios and Sculpture Yard.

The entrance is on the ground floor at the bottom of the building. 

Bill Douglas Cinema Museum

The Bill Douglas Cinema Museum is home to one of the largest collections of material on the moving image in Britain and is an accredited public museum and academic research facility.  

The collection comprises over 75,000 items; with 1,000 items on public display in the Galleries.