Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FT.com

About the FT.com

 

FT.com provides in depth coverage of UK and international business, finance, economic and political news. It also contains comment and analysis from leading journalists and insight into management trends and new developments. It contains the full content of all information published in the Financial Times since 2004. 

If you want to research earlier years, use The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 a complete searchable facsimile of the printed edition.

Registering for access and renewal

 

FT requires user to reauthenticate annually via an institutional login.  Use this link when you are prompted to re-register after a year and this will restore your access. Login with your usual IT services username and password.

The first time you use FT.com you will need to register.

  • Make sure you access the FT via the university system. Use the A-Z Databases List or the access link via this guide.
  • You should then be taken though to a form on the FT website (see below). Complete the form to activate your FT account.

  • You will get a confirmation that you have successfully registered.
  • Click on Browse FT.com to go back to the search screen

You will need to sign in with your email address and the password you have just created whenever you use FT.com. Always use the University link for access.

Please note you will need to re-authenticate yearly to maintain your access.

FT.com registration form screenshot

Searching 

 

You can run a quick search for articles by clicking on the search icon (magnifying glass) and then entering your search.

Screenshot showing search for "global warming"

You can use the search filters to narrow your search by data range or keywords.

You can select a custom range to set an exact date range. Choose the same start and end date if you wish to search a particular day.

Browsing
 
You can browse using the menu bar below the Financial Times header.  You can choose from options such as World, UK, Companies, Climate etc to focus your browsing.
 
Use the hamburger menu in the top left to open up other browse options, including videos and podcasts.
 
ePaper
 
The ePaper version is a digital replica of the daily print editions.  You can use this to view today's paper or choose an earlier issue from the archive.
 
Use the hamburger menu and scroll down and select Today's newspaper (ePaper).  From here you can look at the day's paper or choose archive to browse to the date you want.  You can also choose between the various regional FT versions.
 
Screenshot of FT ePaper menu offering choice of regional FT versions and current day's paper plus an archive menu to access earlier versions
 
 
 

Contact Us or Give Feedback