Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Research Guide: German Law: LibGuide - online library support

Introducing German Law resources

A quick guide to introduce you to key German Law resources

 

Finding Resources using Library Search Services

The Library Search services will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.

Library Search

Search for print and online books, journals, articles + moreLibrary Search LibGuide available for guidance.

computer generated representation of person typing info into a computer
Penryn Library Search

Search the print and streaming media collections that you have access to at Penryn campus.

I am looking for ...

You have access to numerous legal databases via the Databases A-Z.

Explore the Law subject listing to see all the resources.

The key German Law databases is Beck.  Find out all about it on the next tab

You have full text access to all resources in the Beck Zilvrecht Premium Package, including Münchener Kommentar zum Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuch

You can search the other materials on Beck Online but you will be able to access brief details of the publications only - full text is not available for all modules.

 

Use Library Search to look up all the book titles available to you.  This will show you both print and ebook titles.

Examples include:

General print works on German law are classified at KV 2011 in the Law Library.

Other subjects are:
KV 2019        Constitutional law
KV 2020        Administrative law
KV 2021        Criminal law
KV 2024        Civil law
KV 2037        Employment law
KV 2039        Commercial law
KV 2047        Civil procedure

Most up-to-date material on more specific topics, e.g. constitutional or civil law, is likely to be in German, although some studies have been written in English.

Journals

The Law Library subscribes to a number of German legal journals including:

  • Juristische Schulung (JuS)
  • Neue juristische Wochenschrift (NJW).
Law Reports

Several series of law reports are received, including:

  • Entscheidungen des Bundesgerichtshofes in Zivilsachen
  • Entscheidungen des Bundessozialgerichts (until 1996)
  • Entscheidungen des Bundesverfassungsgerichts.

These are shelved in the reports section of the Lasok Law Library.

Government

 

The Bundesregierung website provides information in English, French and German about all aspects of the German Federal Government.

Deutscher Bundestag is the website of the German Parliament; Bundesratis the Federal Council.

 

Legal system

 

Gesetze im Internet is a joint project between the Ministry of Justice and Juris publishers to provide free online access to the German statutes and regulations. The site includes English translations of the German Civil Code (BGB).

Juristisches Internetprojekt Saarbrucken has extensive resources for German law students.

Internet sources

German Law Archive is a useful guide to resources about German law published in English, both on the web and in print. It includes translations of legal documents, like the new German Law of Obligations.

The German Law Journal is an English-language online journal.

Humboldt Forum Recht is a newly established web journal in German from the Humboldt University in Berlin.

 

Company and commercial law

 

German Business and Commercial Laws: guide to translations into English and select auxiliary sources, by Martina Kammer and Anne Scharrenberg (2005) is part of New York University's excellent Globalex service. 

The Institute of Advanced Legal Studies in London produces valuable guides to research in law from different jurisdictions, including Germany.

 

Contact Us or Give Feedback