Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Libraries

Old Library Opening Hours & Access

Level -2 collection currently CLOSED following disruption caused by flooding. 

  • If you need resources from this area please use our request service and we'll bring what you need to Forum Library.

  • If you need to access a Microform reader please email library@exeter.ac.uk 
  • If you are looking for a study space, there are alternative spaces on level 0 and Level +1

 

Please see Bill Douglas Cinema Museum and Special Collections for opening hours for these services.

Monday - Friday

8am - 8pm

Bank Holidays 10am - 6pm

Saturday - Sunday 

10am - 6pm

You must bring your Unicard to borrow using the self service kiosk

For live help, please get in touch through chat 

or email library@exeter.ac.uk

Photo Tour: Old Library

This is the Old Library Building

Floor maps help you find your way

Postgraduate Research Hub enquiry desk is staffed

10.00 - 3.00 Monday to Friday tel: 01392 72 6295

Books are on floors below, walk through gates and doors ahead

Make your way through the Bill Douglas display on Level 0 to access the library collections

Continue downstairs

Follow the signs on level -1 staircase

There are books on Level -1

Follow the signs on level -2 staircase

There are books and journals on level -2

You can also take the lift to other floors

Library borrowing and return facilities are on the ground floor.  Contact us on chat if you need help.

There is an out of hours Book return letter box on the outside of building

Postgraduate Research Hub

The Postgraduate Research Hub enquiry desk is staffed as follows:

10.00 - 15.00 Monday to Friday
CLOSED Saturday to Sunday

PGR Hub Enquiries Telephone Line 01392 726295  manned daily weekdays (except for bank Holidays) from 10am – 3pm.

Phone Options 

1: Faculty of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences 

2: Faculty of Health and Life Sciences  

3: Faculty of Environment, Science and Economy 

4: School of Education

5: Cornwall 

6: PGR examination queries 

7: PGR Education Welfare Advisor 

 

Contact us


   Email      library@exeter.ac.uk

 

AccessAbility guide

Collections

The Old Library holds research and archive collections, including:

Level -1 Old Library is currently closed. If you require any thing from the collections in this area please contact us using the chat function on this page.

 

Old Library Floor Plans

Old Library Collections

Level - 1

AWDU 000 - 999

Brooks 000 - 999

Davis 000 - 999

Literature 870 - 899

History & Geography 900 – 999

Extra oversize (Atlases, Music scores & Art folios) 000 - 999

House of Commons journals

Level -2

Bibliographies 000 - 999

Ghana 000 – 999

Reference 000 - 999

Computer Science 000 - 099

Philosophy & Psychology 100 - 199

Religion & Theology 200 - 299

Social Sciences & Education 300 – 399

Languages & Linguistics 400 – 499

Sciences & Mathematics 500 – 599

Medicine & Technology 600 – 699

Arts, Music & Recreation 700 – 799

Literature 800 – 869

Journals 000 – 999

Law old edition K-KZ

Microfilm & microfiche

Parliamentary publications

Floor Guide: Old Library

Find us

Building 7 on campus map

Contact Us or Give Feedback