University of Exeter Archive
The University of Exeter archive contains records relating to the University of Exeter and its predecessor institutions. The lives of staff and students at the University can be researched through a wide variety of material, including photographs, student magazines and newspapers, and admissions registers. The University Archive is extensive and largely uncatalogued, but box lists for some of the material are available on request.
Find out more about this archive in our online guide to the University Archive or contact Special Collections for advice.
Edmund Collection of Local History
A pamphlet entitled 'Local Black History: A beginning in Devon' by Lucy MacKeith (2003) provides an overview of initial research into Black History in Devon, as well as helpful guidance on where you can look for further archival sources.
Find out more about this item on the Library catalogue
This item is also available to borrow via the Forum Library and St Luke's Library.
Papers relating to the Exeter and District Anti-Apartheid Group (EUL MS 216)
The Exeter and District Anti-Apartheid Group was esabtlished in c 1966 and was one of the longest established and most active groups in the UK anti-apartheid movement. The collection includes seven boxes of material relating to the administration of the Group, including correspondence, promotional literature, presscutting scrapbooks, and artefacts (badges, flags, banners, collecting boxes etc.),
Photograph of B.Ed students from Sokoto, Nigeria, at St. Luke's College in 1977 (EUL UA add.6/32)
Report on the establishment of an 'Afro-Asian Society' at the University of Exeter's Guild from the student newspaper 'The South Westerner', 17 Mar 1966 (University/SOU)
'Local Black History: A beginning in Devon' by Lucy MacKeith (2003)
Badges in the Papers relating to the Exeter and District Anti-Apartheid Group (EUL MS 216)
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
