Searching for Books and Printed Materials
Books and printed materials can be found by searching the University of Exeter Library catalogue
Further guidance and tips on using the library catalogue can be found on the Searching our Catalogues LibGuide
Hypatia Collection
The Hypatia Collection consists of approximately 10,000 books and journals by or about women. Part of its richness stems from the inclusive collecting habits of its creator who acquired many ephemeral titles and books on subjects and by writers traditionally excluded from the academic canon in her aim 'to make available published documentation about women in every aspect of their lives'.
The collection includes sections on the Natural World (classmark: Hypatia/Nat), Topography (classmark: Hypatia/Top) and Travel (classmark: Hypatia/Tra).
To search the collection more broadly for items relevant to politics, use the Advanced Keyword Search page of the University of Exeter Library Catalogue. Select 'Holding Call Number' from the search fields and enter Hypatia. Type a keyword (e.g. environment*) into the next search field.
Items from the Edmund Collection of Local History (classmark: Edmund)
Edmund Collection of Local History
The strengths of the Edmund Collection lie in local history. The main emphasis is upon Exeter and East Devon, although there is some material from West Devon (such as Plymouth) and Dorset and Cornwall. There are a few more general books in the collection, covering British history. The majority of the items (which includes books, pamphlets, periodicals and maps) covers various aspects of the west country, notably the history of towns and villages and their residents. Social history is well-represented with material on religion, transport (particularly railways), education and local myths and legends.
The collection is fully catalogued and entries appear on the University Library's online catalogue.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
