Volunteering opportunities
Volunteers make an invaluable contribution towards Special Collections, enabling us to extend the work that can be done by our team, and making our collections more accessible for people to use and enjoy. Volunteering is unpaid, but can offer a wide range of benefits to those who generously volunteer their time with us. This includes the opportunity to get hands-on with unique collections, to develop new skills and knowledge, and to gain valuable experience which can improve employability. For University of Exeter students, volunteering in Special Collections can also count towards the Exeter Award.
Special Collections runs a small volunteering programme, which currently accepts a small number of volunteers for time-limited projects (usually three to six months). The volunteering programme is open to university students and staff, as well as members of the public. Due to limited spaces available for volunteering, half of the spaces will be reserved for the professional development of University of Exeter students.
Volunteering will usually take place in person in the Special Collections Reading Room on the ground floor or in the Special Collections office on Level –1 of the Old Library. If you have any access requirements, or any other questions, please email libspc@exeter.ac.uk and we will be happy to assist.
All relevant training will be provided, and each volunteer will have a volunteer supervisor to answer questions and offer advice on working within the heritage sector. We want you to get as much out of volunteering as possible and encourage you to let us know if you have an interest in a particular collection or area of work.
Volunteering opportunities will be advertised on this page and on Handshake at the beginning of the Autumn Term (see University term dates), with any additional spaces being advertised as they become available. If there are no volunteering opportunities listed below, then our volunteering programme is currently at full capacity. Please check again at the beginning of the next academic term.
At present, our volunteering opportunities are limited to adults over 18 years of age. Please see our Work Experience page for opportunities for Year 10 and Year 12 students. Please note: we are currently unable to support any other placements outside of our current programme.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
