Library Blog - LibGuides at University of Exeter

New ebook collection: Wiley Data and Cybersecurity ebook Library

10/17/2022

Nicola Nye

Computer Science, Engineering

Stay informed about the quickly evolving field of data privacy and cybersecurity with this new collection of high-quality eBooks from Wiley delivered via the IEEE Xplore Digital Library. With approximately 200 titles, this collection provides essential information and specially curated content applicable for students, researchers, engineers, and technical professionals.

Search for titles via Library Search or access the complete collection though the A to Z database link.

New resources: Joint Publications Research Service reports

06/18/2021

Nicola Nye

Medicine, History, Biosciences, Computer Science, Environmental and Marine Science, Middle East Studies, Psychology, Physics and Astronomy, Politics and International Relations, Medical Sciences

A substantial archive of publications produced by the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS), a unit operating within the United States CIA, from 1957-1995. The JPRS unit produced English translations of foreign-language monographs, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, and radio and television broadcasts from across the world, with a focus on communist and developing countries. These translations were produced for use by U.S government officials, U.S. agencies and research and industrial communities.

You can search across the entire collection:

Joint Publications Research Service

New

Or by themed collection:

Aeronautics and Space Flight: Global Origins of Modern Aviation and Rocketry

New

Climate Science and Sustainability: Global Origins of Modern Environmentalism

New

Computing and Artificial Intelligence: Global Origins of the Digital Age

New

Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives, 1958-1994

New

Morality and Science: Global Origins of Modern Bioethics

New

Nuclear Energy: Global Origins of Energy Resource Management in the Atomic Age

New

Public Health: Global Origins of Modern Health Policy and Management, 1957-1995

New

Subjects

History

24

Medicine

7

Psychology

7

Medical Sciences

6

Law

22

English

8

Criminology

3

Anthropology

7

Philosophy

5

Sociology

9

See more...

Tags

database

1

official

1

publications

1

government

1

drop-in

1

Clear Filters

Recent Posts

Reading List questions you need answered?

Online reading lists provide quick and easy access to a wide range of digital and print resources for your module via ELE.A new sharepoint site has been created to answer any questions you might have about reading lists, by guiding you to the relevant information.Information is tailored to your needs. You can browse by support in the following categories:I am a lecturerI am a studentI am a researcherI am in Professional ServicesWe hope you find the new sharepoint support useful. if you have any queries, please do get in touch with the Reading List Team via readinglists@exeter.ac.uk.Top Tip! If you are teaching a module in 2024/25 and haven't yet been in touch with us about your reading list, please get in touch to let us know if you need a new list or want amendments to an old list. We work through lists in receipt order, so get in touch as soon as you can....

Library Research Support over the summer

The term time Library Research Cafe sessions have ended for the summer and will resume in Term 1 2024/25. However, lots of friendly support and guidance is available throughout the summer to help you with your library research. Library Research Drop-ins You can come along to a Library Research drop in session run by your liaison librarians. Sessions take place at various locations on campus. At these sessions you can get guidance on all aspects of your library research including:making the most of the vast array of the library's information resources and academic databasesusing key databases for your research areafinding high quality information to support your research, essays, and projectsreferencing guidanceThese are informal sessions. There is no set content or agenda, just come along with your questions and queries and chat them through with your librarians. 1:1 Appointments with your Academic Liaison Librarian You can book a 1:1 appointment with your Liaison Librarian to discuss any aspect of your library research. Your librarian can:support you in developing your online search strategieshelp you to identofy and use relevant research databases and other information sourcesprovide guidance on evaluating and referencing research materials.and lots more…. If you are not sure who the librarian is for your subject, use the drop down menu on the Academic Liaison Librarians guide. Choose your subject, and you will see details for your librarian, useful guides for your subject and appointment booking and contact options. ...

Public Information Online - PIO

New ResourcePublic Information Online This link opens in a new windowNewPIO is a web-based archive of searchable Parliamentary and Official documents. Includes Civil Service yearbook. The University has recently subscribed to the Public Information Online (PIO) online service from Dandy Booksellers Ltd offering a wide range of official documents going back, in many cases, more than a century. About Public Information Online (PIO)This web based archive supports research across publications from the Westminster Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly, Welsh Parliament (Senedd), Scottish Government and also key Non-Parliamentary material. It is ideal for researching current and archive. governmental documents on various topics. Full details of coverage are available on the PIO website.To learn more about what to expect from PIO, take a look at this short introductory video or take a look through this product showcase article by Donna Ravenhill of Dandy Booksellers, which gives a a great overview of the content, together with some illustrative search examples. Civil Service Yearbook The current version of the Civil Service Yearbook is available to search or browse via Public Information Online. You can search for archive versions using the Advanced search screen, as illustrated below. User supportOnline help is available via the PIO help pages. If you need further support to make use of this resource for your study or research, please get in touch with your Liaison Librarian. FeedbackYou can also send feedback on this resource to your Liaison Librarian. We’d be interested to hear how it has aided your study / research. ...

New resource: Overton database is now available to UoE users

The University is now an institutional subscriber to the Overton platform whose mission is to help users find, understand, and measure their influence on government policy. Overton is the world’s largest searchable and curated policy database. It tracks a wide range of policy documents such as white papers, working papers, government guidance, think tank policy briefs, national clinical guidelines etc and indexes and organises these materials to support analysis via key terms / topic / themes. It also maps connections between these documents and scholarly research and news content to see where ideas, papers, reports and staff are being cited or mentioned. This database enables researchers to track the impact of their own work on policy as well as investigate the dynamics of global policy making. Access and Registration Login to Overton You will be prompted to create a new user account for Overton. Complete the registration form to activate your account. Getting help If you are new to Overton, you may find it useful to watch a short video introducing Overton. Use the online Getting started guide to help get you up and running with the service More detailed online support is available via the Overton Knowledge Base where you can browse or search online for guidance You can also use the Support area to join an online chat or submit an online form to request further information from the Overton team. You can also get in touch with your Liaison Librarian who will be happy to help you use the platform Keep up to date To keep up to date with developments you can Sign up to Overton’s monthly newsletter, which contains new features and other useful information for users. ...

Archives