Staff and students at the University of Exeter now have access to Gale Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Description of this database.
Search across millions of journal articles. View newspaper articles from major regional, national and local newspapers. Search across all resources or access each separately: Gale Academic OneFile, Gale General OneFile and Gale OneFile: News
Over 350 archival collections containing scans of monographs and manuscripts from their source libraries. Topics include African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian Studies, British history, Holocaust studies, LGBT studies, Latin America and Caribbean studies, Middle East studies, political science, religious studies, and Women’s studies. View the collections here: Archives Unbound
Access criticism and reviews, literary works including poems, short stories, speeches and plays, and biographical information on writers from all around the world, from different time periods and disciplines. Search across all of the literature resources or access each separately: Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Something About the Author Online and Contemporary Authors Online
If you need any help using Gale Reference Complete, please contact your Liaison Librarian.
A bibliography of newspapers and periodicals published in the 19th century. The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals aims to include every periodical and newspaper published on a regular basis, from daily to annually, in every language, within England.
For several years, the University has made use of the Sage Research Methods database. This database comprises numerous modules and prior to summer 2021 the modules were primarily in written form; journal entries, books and encyclopaedia. For 2021/2022, an enhanced portfolio of over 3,000 additional materials has been made available and encompasses video, datasets and research cases, together with learning activities to test understanding
Educators can call on multimedia and lesson content to assist students to build their research methodology understanding and skills throughout their module activities. Students can explore the realities of research through working with practice datasets and learning from real life research experiences that are featured in the video and cases content. This helps bring the research experience to life in a way that is not possible through the book and journal content.
Access Sage Research Methods
Login with your University username and passwords to SAGE Research Methods.
More about the new content
The new content includes datasets, cases and video
SAGE Research Methods Datasets
A collection of sample datasets and instructional guides that can be used to support the teaching and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative data analysis techniques.
SAGE Research Methods Cases
Detailed records of how real research projects are conducted, written by the researchers themselves. They explain why the researchers chose the research methods, how they overcame challenges, what went well, and what they might have done differently
SAGE Research Methods Video
A streaming video collection created to support undergraduate teaching, student reference, research projects and higher level academic interest material. Content includes tutorials, interviews, video case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.
Click to see more info on datasets, cases and video
Help and Support
For online help and support, take a look at Sage's Training Centre.
If you are completely new to the Sage Research Methods database then you may like to join one of the upcoming webinars which will give you an introduction to the service. Upcoming dates are:
Mon 11 October @ 14.00 BST - RSVP
Mon 15 November @ 14.00 GMT - RSVP
Your liaison librarians are also available for help and support. Just get in touch if you have questions about the database and how you might use it within your teaching.