Library Blog

Staff and students at the University of Exeter now have access to Gale Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Description of this database.

Search across millions of journal articles. View newspaper articles from major regional, national and local newspapers. Search across all resources or access each separately: Gale Academic OneFile, Gale General OneFile and Gale OneFile: News

Over 350 archival collections containing scans of monographs and manuscripts from their source libraries. Topics include African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian Studies, British history, Holocaust studies, LGBT studies, Latin America and Caribbean studies, Middle East studies, political science, religious studies, and Women’s studies. View the collections here: Archives Unbound

Access criticism and reviews, literary works including poems, short stories, speeches and plays, and biographical information on writers from all around the world, from different time periods and disciplines. Search across all of the literature resources or access each separately: Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Something About the Author Online and Contemporary Authors Online 

If you need any help using Gale Reference Complete, please contact your Liaison Librarian.

We have short term trial access to Gale Reference Complete. Access is available until 12 March 2021.

You can search across all content using the Cross Search tool, or you can explore the individual components, which consist of:

General research: current journals, newspapers, and periodicals

• Gale Academic OneFile - millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
• Gale General OneFile - general-interest periodical resource 
• Gale OneFile: News - access to more than 2,300 major regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Literature

• Cross-search these collections with Gale Literature:
  • Literature Resource Center – up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world
  • LitFinder – a wealth of literary works, including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays
  • Subcollections of eBook titles – including Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online – signed scholarly essays that provide essential context to understand the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and all parts of the world
  • Something About the Author Online – engaging biographies of classic, contemporary, and emerging authors and illustrators of children's and young adult literature
  • Contemporary Authors Online – current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors

Primary Sources

• Archives Unbound - includes approximately 360 collections. Broad topic clusters include African American Studies, American Indian Studies, Asian Studies, British history, Holocaust studies, LGBT studies, Latin America and Caribbean studies, Middle East studies, political science, religious studies, and women’s studies.

Feedback

We'd be interested in your feedback on this trial.  If it would be useful for your teaching or research, please send your feedback to your Liaison Librarian.

As part of their response to COVID-19, British Online Archives (BOA) has provided the University of Exeter with free access to their entire database of digital primary resources for 30 days from 1st February.

Their website hosts over 4 million records drawn from both private and public archives. These records are organised thematically, covering 1,000 years of world history, and are of use to undergraduate students and experienced academics alike.

Themes include:

• American Studies, 1621-1952
• British Broadcasting Corporation, 1927-2002
• The Industrial Revolution in Britain and the World, 1635-1970
• British Communism at Home and Abroad, 1944-1986
• Global Governance in the 20th Century
• Governing Africa: British Records from African Countries under Colonial Rule, 1808-1995
• Politics and Protest: From Major Party Politics to Popular Protest and Parliamentary History, 1102-1994
• India under Colonial Rule, 1752-1933
• Representing Britain: International Relations and Diplomacy, 1796-1962
• British Records from West Indian Countries under Colonial Rule, 1678-1950
• Spreading the Word: Missionary Work Around the World, 1808-1967
• The Transatlantic Slave Trade, 1675-1907
• World Wars, 1863-1974

To access BOA, click on the access link below and login with your University username and password

Access Link: British Online Archives

Browse BOA’s 95 collections and read how they are trying to help those working and studying in Higher Education during the pandemic. BOA say that the free access initiative will be continually reviewed and extended month by month if feasible.

Watch the short video below to learn more about the structure and content of the archives

You can also use the Guide to Advanced Searching to assist with effective searching.

If you would like to know more or have any feedback, please contact your Liaison Librarian.