Skip to Main Content

Art History and Visual Culture Subject Guide: Freely available sources

Help and guidance on finding resources in your subject area

Web resources

Below are links to web-based collections of Art History and Visual Culture resources that are freely available. Don't forget that you can also use the A-Z database list to access similar resources that the University pays to access. Please note that this is by no means a comprehensive list. 

Artsy

Artsy is a commercial platform for discovering, learning about, and collecting art. It’s strong in contemporary art. Organizations pay Artsy for exposure. Available online https://www.artsy.net/

National Portrait Gallery Research

National Portrait Gallery Research. Available online http://www.npg.org.uk/research.php

V&A Research

V&A Research. Available online http://www.vam.ac.uk/info/research

Art UK

Art UK aims to show the UK's national collection online. Available online http://artuk.org/

Gallica

Gallica collections held at the Bibliotheque Nationale de France. Available online http://gallica.bnf.fr/?lang=EN

MetPublications

MetPublicationsa portal to the Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive publishing program with 1,500 titles from the last five decades. Available online http://www.metmuseum.org/art/metpublications/all-available-titles

Arthistoricum.net

Arthistoricum.net A directory of art historically relevant text collections made available online Available onlinehttp://www.arthistoricum.net/en/subjects/sources/

Getty Publications Virtual Library

Getty Publications Virtual Library provides free digital backlist book titles from the Getty Publications Archives. Available onlinehttp://www.getty.edu/publications/virtuallibrary/

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg. This is a digital library of free ebooks. Check out the fine arts bookshelf. Available online http://www.gutenberg.org/

Contact Us or Give Feedback