You have access to a wide range of different types of law books at the university. Books are made available in ebook format wherever possible as this gives the best access to materials, allowing 24/7 access to books from any location. Where ebooks are not available, multiple print copies of key titles are purchased.
Library Search
Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more.
Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.
For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.
The University has access to thousands of online books from legal publishers such as Oxford Scholarship Online, Hart, Cambridge and Bloomsbury - to name just a few! All the individual titles are searchable via Library Search with a link to the full text.
Take a look at the Law collection on Oxford Scholarship Online for a flavour of the wide variety of academic legal titles you have access to. For example, you have full text access to:
Insurance and the Law of Obligations by
It is widely acknowledged that insurance has a major impact on the operation of tort and contract law regimes in practice, yet there is little sustained analysis of their interaction. The majority of academic private lawyers have little knowledge of insurance law in its own right, and theamount of discussion directed to insurance in private law theory is disproportionately small in relation to its practical importance. Filling this substantial gap in the literature, this book explores the multiple influences of insurance in the law of obligations, and the nature and impact ofinsurance law as an inherent and significant aspect of private law. It combines conceptual and doctrinal analysis, informing the theoretical discussion of the nature of private law, including the role of judicial and public purpose, and the place of formalism and of contextualism in normativetheories of private law. Arguing for the wider recognition of the multiple impacts of insurance, the book claims that recognition of the presence of insurance necessarily marks a departure from the two-party framework sometimes described as definitive of private law. The structured exploration and interpretation of thecontemporary role of insurance in the law of obligations, and of its implications, illuminates this under-explored area of private law, and equips the reader for further enquiry and debate.
The print book collection in the Law library is organised by shelf number according to Moys classification, so that books on the same subject are grouped together to aid wayfinding and browsing.
The Commercial Law classmarks span KN 250- KN 339, and include:
For example, insurance law books are found at classmark KN 290
The Law Library print collections are available 24/7 on Level -1 of the Forum Library
You should also use the Legal Databases to access other books, particularly non textbook material such as specialised practitioner works and reference works. These materials will not appear via Library Search so be prepared to use Library Search and the A-Z Databases List as complementary search tools. You can find out more about the complementary aspects of these services via Library Search LibGuide.
Use the Law Databases in the Databases A-Z List to select a specific resource for comprehensive searching. A short online demo is available to guide you in accessing databases from the A-Z list. The following databases have extensive online book content for legal research.
You have access to the Maritime and Commercial, Insurance and Reinsurance and Dispute Resolution titles in i-law. You will find these materials invaluable for your research for this module. Titles include: International Commercial Mediation, Law of Insurance Contracts, Bills of Lading, plus many more. The following gives you a flavour of the insurance content
Westlaw has online versions of many commentary titles. Select Books to see all the available content. Useful titles for this module include the following.
Lexis includes access to Halsbury's Laws of England which is a comprehensive legal encyclopedia, and access to many journals including the following.