Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Search: About Library Search

Introducing the Library Search services

The Library Search services will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.

Library Search

Search for print and online books, journals, articles + moreLibrary Search LibGuide available for guidance.

computer generated representation of person typing info into a computer
Penryn Library Search

Search the print and streaming media collections that you have access to at Penryn campus.

Library Search - Why use anything else?

Library Search enables you to find high quality resources from a wide range of sources in a single search.

  • It is great as a starting point.
  • It covers all topics
  • If you are looking for a specific book or journal title, you can quickly find out if you have access by limiting your search to items on the Library catalogue.
  • If you are looking for a range of content on a particular topic you can find a large amount of full text material, drawn from across the databases available via the Library
  • In the vast majority of cases, the content you find will be immediately accessible in full text online

BUT - be aware that ...

  • It doesn’t cover every database, some specialist content needs to be searched separately.
  • It does not have all the advanced search options like the specialist databases. Some databases have in built thesauri and search histories for example, which can assist with complex search strategies
  • It does not provide personalisation/alert features. Some databases allow you to save and rerun searches or set up alert services for current awareness.

Complementary search tools

Think of the Library Search and A-Z Databases Lists as complementary services and choose whichever suits your research need at the time.  

Contact Us