Skip to Main Content

Library Search

Introducing the Library Search services

Library Search

Search across the print and online collections for books, chapters, articles, journals and lots more. 


Library Search will help you discover books, journals, articles, audio visual material and more on your chosen topic. This is a good place to start when you are beginning to research a topic as you can draw on content from a variety of different sources.

For more in depth research in databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Library Search - Why use anything else?

Library Search enables you to find high quality resources from a wide range of sources in a single search.

  • It is great as a starting point.
  • It covers all topics
  • If you are looking for a specific book or journal title, you can quickly find out if you have access 
  • If you are looking for a range of content on a particular topic you can find a large amount of full text material, drawn from across the databases available via the Library

BUT - be aware that ...

  • It doesn’t cover every database, some specialist content needs to be searched separately.
  • It does not have all the advanced search options like the specialist databases. Some databases have in built thesauri and expert search tools which can assist with complex search strategies
  • It does not provide personalisation/alert features. Some databases allow you to save and rerun searches or set up alert services for current awareness.

 

Complementary search tools

Think of the Library Search and A-Z Databases Lists as complementary services and choose whichever suits your research need at the time.  

Contact Us or Give Feedback

University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0