LibGuides: Case Law &amp; Law Reports: Worldwide Case Law

You may need to access case law from a range of different legal jurisdictions for comparative research. You can find out more about accessing international materials from the Key Legal Databases LibGuide.

Lexis & Westlaw

Lexis and Westlaw both have large collections of US materials and a varying degree of material from other jurisdictions around the world. The other common law traditions countries such as Australia and New Zealand have more significant coverage than some other jurisdictions.

Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window Legal research tool with full text access to UK, US and international case law, legislation and commentary plus Practical Guidance module - previously available as Lexis PSL.
alternative off campus link
A support guide for Lexis is available.
Westlaw International Materials This link opens in a new window Online legal research tool providing access to a wide range of non UK materials. Includes legislation, case law, journals and other primary and secondary materials. There is significant US coverage but all material from Canada, Australia and other international jurisdictions as well as international law materials.

VLex Justis

You can use the Jurisdiction settings within VLex Justis to focus your case law searching on the UK or expand to other jurisdictions such as Ireland, the EU and the Commonwealth.

vLex Justis This link opens in a new window An online legal research platform that helps you find leading authorities and establish the current status of the law. Links you through to full text available on major databases such as Lexis and Westlaw.
This is an enhanced replacement for the previous JustisOne database

WorldLII

The World legal Information Institute provides free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law, through collaborqation with the various national and regional legal institutes. You can use it to explore the legal materials that are freely available for particular countries around the world. Find out more about WorldLII

WorldLII Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law