Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THE1103: Finding and using library resources for assignments: 4. Research databases

Online tutorial introducing you to the skills and techniques needed for effective library research

Databases

 

 

Databases provide access to scholarly research, including journal articles, conference proceedings and books.

 

Databases for your subject

The databases for Theology are:

Key theology databases

The databases in this section contain specialist theology and religion content, including academic journal articles, essay book reviews and more.

Activity: Spend a few minutes exploring these databases

This is an index to scholarly literature in theology and religion, and consists of journal articles, essays,and book reviews. Topics covered include biblical studies, world religions and religious studies, church history, religion & social issues, theology, philosophy and ethics.

This collection provides some full text content, while other full text content can be accessed via links (where items are held in our collection).

The tutorial below covers some basic searching using the EBSCO platform.

 

Subjects covered in this collection include world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Content is in the form of academic journal articles, book reviews, magazines and newspapers.

Watch the video to find out how to search EBSCO databases.

This is a database of abstracts on theological and religious subjects. You can search by keyword or bible citation.

Key research databases

The databases in this section are multi-disciplinary in their scope. They contain scholarly literature on a wide range of subjects including theology and religion. These databases primarily contain secondary sources such as journal articles, books, reviews etc, although some may contain a mix of both primary and secondary sources.

Activity: Spend a few minutes exploring these databases

JSTOR Understanding King James Bible

The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool that allows students, educators and scholars to use the text of the King James Bible to quickly navigate into the scholarship written about it — line by line.

Users simply click next to any line of text and relevant articles from the JSTOR archive immediately load.

Explore the collection here.

 

Here is an example from Matthew

There are 31 articles within JSTOR with reference to the first line, click on the number to access the articles quoting the line.

 

 

This is an index to scholarly literature in the Humanities. It provides a mixture of both full text and index only content from journals, books and other published sources from around the world.

An index to scholarly literature covering all major fields of philosophy including:aesthetics, anxiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphiliosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. This collection details journal articles, books and book reviews from over 50 countries.

Reference sources

Reference sources can be used for quick background research into a topic.
For example, dictionaries and encyclopedia are great sources to use when you need to find out the meaning of new terms and concepts.

 

Reference sources can also be used for in-depth scholarly analysis into research topics.
Major specialist reference sources help by:

  • ​examining topics in depth through research reviews, essays and analyses.

  • directing you to key publications from scholars in the field through bibliographies and literature guides

Activity: Spend a few minutes exploring these databases

Contact Us