Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics: effective library research for dissertations: Library Search

Online support to assist with planning and conducting your library dissertation research

Library Search

Search for print books, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Library Search

A search for photoelectric effect in Library Search returns the following catalogue results. Note the type of content. There is a mixture of print and electronic texts and commentary.

This search finds matches in book and journal titles.  For more granular searching within the content of books and journals you should use the Articles + more feature of Library Search and the research databases.

A search for photoelectric effect in Library Search Articles + more returns the following results. 

In addition to all the content in the Catalogue tab, there is also a wide range of content from various full text resources, with journal articles that match your search terms.

Articles + more search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

You can also search for particular journal titles. For example, search for the journal Nature.

 

Click on the title of the journal for more details. 

This journal is available online - click on one of the links to access it. Note the coverage dates and select the option that contains the issue of the journal you want.

From this record you can see we also have some archive copies of the journal in print.

Contact Us