Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English: effective library research for dissertations: MLA International Bibliography

Online support to assist with planning and conducting your library dissertation research

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography covers scholarship dealing with the following fields:

  • Literature: from all over the world, including Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America
  • Folklore: folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems
  • Language and linguistics: the study of languages from any historical period, including history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, syntax and translation
  • Literary theory and criticism
  • Dramatic arts: film, radio, television and theatre
  • History of printing and publishing
  • Teaching of language, literature, rhetoric and composition at college level (from 1998 onwards)

The most common materials listed are books, book articles and journal articles.

The MLA has developed an online course to teach students how to use the MLA International Bibliography.

There are five modules in the course. The fifth module is 'Literary topics' which provides guidance on performing searches on specific literary works and authors as well as on broad topics.

  • You can sign up online for the course and module - only your e-mail address is required to register.
  • The course usually takes around 90 minutes to complete, and the “Literary Topics” module takes around 45 minutes.
  • You should complete the online course first. The subject modules build on the general database search skills taught in the course.
  • You will need access to the MLA International Bibliography through their library’s website to complete all aspects of the course.

The MLA provide short tutorial videos to help you use the resource. 

There are more tutorials available at https://www.mla.org/Publications/MLA-International-Bibliography/Tutorial-Videos

 

Contact Us