Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nutrition: Library Dissertation Research: Using Library Search

Online tutorial introducing you to the skills and techniques needed for dissertation research.

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.  Use Library Search LibGuide for guidance.

For a full selection of databases and archives, use the A-Z Databases List.

Finding Resources via Library Search

A search for research methods physical activity in Library Search returns the following catalogue results. Note the type of content. There is a mixture of print and electronic texts.

This search finds matches in book and journal titles (and in brief details such as subject terms, contents page listing details).  For more granular searching within the content of books and journals you should use the Articles + more feature of Library Search and the research databases.

You will find many results on the Articles + more tab than the Catalogue tab if you were to run the same research methods physical activity search.

In addition to all the content in the Catalogue tab, there is also a wide range of content from various full text resources, with journal articles, book chapters and other full text resources that match your search terms.

Articles + more search is often a good starting point for introductory material, but if you want to research the global literature on a topic, and go beyond quick full text results, then you should follow up with a database search. You can tailor your search more precisely using all the sophisticated functionality available on the research databases.  

You can also use Library Search to check on the availability of print and online journal titles.

As you begin searching the research databases you may find references to particular journal articles that look interesting.  Some databases only include short bibliographic details of articles with an abstract.  If you want to read the full text you can use Library Search to discover if you have full text access.

To search for journal titles, just enter some/all of the journal title into the library Search box and then browse the Catalogue tab to check for access.

A search for Nutrition Research returns the following catalogue results. You can browse through the list and click on the titles for access.

In this example for the Nutrition research you can see that there is:

  • current access via ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
  • archive access via ScienceDirect Backfile

You will often find that journal coverage is split across journal and archive services.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Contact Us