Research databases are a good place to find scholarly literature. Research databases provide access to research, including journal articles, conference proceedings and book chapters.
The core databases for your subject are highlighted here.
There are many more databases you may like to consider searching as part of your research. Details of all of the databases you can access are available through the A-Z databases list.
What is a database? 
Research databases enable you to see what has been published in the area you are researching. They contain detailed records of thousands of journal articles, book references and conference proceedings. These records usually include the article title, authors, abstract (a brief summary), keywords (to enable your search to find it) and more.
Why should I use a database?
There are many different databases. Their interfaces will all vary, and they may use different terminology.
However, they all have similar features. Once you are familiar with these, you'll be able to find your way around different databases. You can see the main features in the examples below.
This is what a standard database interface looks like:
Once you click the Search button, the results page appears:
It is important to note:
So, when searching databases, be prepared for an extra step.
After finding a relevant article or book you need to check whether you have access to that item, either in print or in full-text online. Many of the databases will have a Check for this at Exeter button; clicking on this link will check whether we have access to the item.
Biosis is an index to life sciences literature from across the globe. Subject coverage ranging from traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, to related and interdisciplinary fields such as agriculture, biotechnology, ecology and pharmacology. You can link out to the full-texts if they are part of our collection.
Watch the video below for an introduction on how to search the platform. Click here for a quick guide to the Biosis Citation Index.
Web of Science is a large multidisciplinary research database covering all subject areas.
You can use it to discover the global literature on a wide range of topics. It is not a full text database, but you can use it to discover published material and follow links through to discover the full text available on other services. For in depth guidance explore the Web of Science learning site, YouTube Videos or the Web of Science LibGuide.
Environment Complete provides full text content of environmental literature from across the world. Subject coverage includes agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
Environment Complete uses the EBSCOHost platform. Watch the video below for an introduction on how to search the platform.
University of Exeter LibGuide is licensed under CC BY 4.0
